We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy Center Rival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Center for the Arts

Center for the Arts
George Mason University, 4400 University Dr., MS 2F5, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Fairfax
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Kennedy Center Rival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This gem is, in some ways, a hidden treasure in the DC area. The center hosts many world-class performers each year, many of whom also perform at the Kennedy Center at ticket prices that are more than double form those at CFA. My wife and I have been "friends" of CFA for many years, and regularly take one of their "season" packages, which yields even more discounts, and even free events. Anyone living within a reasonable driving distance should take every advantage of this magnificent venue.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GMU Center for the Arts - Great Value, Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I only recently learned about the great shows at the GMU Center for the Arts. Most recently we saw Sir James Galway and the Irish Chamber Orchestra there. It was outstanding. The thing we like about the Center for the Arts is the caliber of the performers and performances, and the fact that ticket prices are better than any other venue in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, Usa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Local Performance Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have visited this performance venue since it opened and I have always had a great experience here. The parking is plentiful, the building is nice, and the staff is great.

I have seen many preformance here including several theatrical plays, and many concerts. I have never had any problems finding parking. Also each time the staff has gone out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

As for the seating, I can truly say that this is one of the performance venues that there are absolutely no bad seats. From every seat in the venue, you will be able to easily see the stage.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Local venue for great performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located on the George Mason University campus, this performing arts center is a beautiful facility. Great sound and viewing from any seat. Pricing is not exorbitant and if you are a "friend" of the center you get discount pricing, ability to exchange tickets and great customer service, plus a meet and greet area prior to performances and during intermissions. Many well known local, national and international artists and performing groups. Disabled friendly too. Parking deck next door with flat rate fee. Mason Inn and Conference Center located very nearby on campus for pre-dinner or after drinks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great performances!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Center for the Arts is located on the George Mason University campus. Local groups, groups from the university, national and international groups perform there. Many different types of events to choose from; prices are reasonable...some are free. Most parking requires walking about .25 mile, but there is an adjacent parking garage for a fee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center for the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.