We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12104 Monument Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Don't ever stay at this hell hole. We payed $89+ per night, and our room was filled with cockroaches. They acted like it's normal. They didn't do anything about it. They refused to refund our money. And nobody speaks English, so our complaints basically went on deaf ears.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
3
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, CT
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have a new office in Fairfax at Monmument Corner Drive and this is the closest Hotel for walking. Got it for a sub $100 price, easy check in, nothing elegant but fairly clean, hot shower in the morn, kitchen and stove that both worked and a sub-standard TV (no flat screen).

Basically a nice motel, w few amenities such as free wifi. No breakfast. A Maggianos directly across the street, many nice shops, a cinema and 6 really good restaurants (Ozzies, Chipotle, PF Changs etc. )in an 8-10 minute walk. Took the bus from the Vienna metro (621 or 623) which drops you literally across the street . Going back to the metro in the morning is a slightly different route so you have to walk down and pick it up in front of PF Changes on Monument Drive.

Cheap, convenient but nothing great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Relocating to DC, i booked 22 days at this hotel. Must admit did not look at the reviews on travelocity before booking but given that I used to live in Fairfax before and that the hotel is in a great area of the city, I thought it was a safe bet.

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel at 1 am, we went to our room to find a horrendous room, with air conditioning and a fridge that would not stop making awful noises all night long...we couldn't sleep all night.

The linens were awful, with holes and old...why would Management at this hotel let this happen? They have a great location but have decided that being mediocre and dirty is the way to go.

Save your time and do not take your family to this place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

They charge $120/night for rooms. The room looked old, not sanitary. Not a comfortable stay in any way. Was supposed to be in a suite, yet all that was available was a tiny stove and a bar of soap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We got a last minute deal. $47 for a night. The room was simple, and clean. Kitchenette looked decent. If you're looking for a no-frills place to stay, this would work just fine.

The only issues I had were that the pillows were too thick and only 2 of them. Also, you could hear doors opening and closing along with cars starting for people leaving in the morning.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel website looking for late deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The reception desk clerk, Nash was most helpful and since the reservation was through hotels.com he provided me with free wireless Internet access rather then the usual $5 rate. The room was clean and comfortable and when I had difficulty with the room thermostat Nash offered to change my room. The heat did come on after a few minutes and all was fine. I stayed for one night and was completely satisfied with Homestead and based on the $70 price from hotels.com I plan to use them in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010 via mobile

My stay was great all because Hasan being such a professional. Customer service was great, that what I look for, nice and clean room and great price. Thanks again Hasan for bring helpful and just a down to earth guy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks

Address: 12104 Monument Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Hotel Fairfax
Homestead Studio Suites Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.