We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rating - pay attention to address there are 2 close by” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12055 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Average rating - pay attention to address there are 2 close by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had booked online at the Extended Stay on Monument Drive which is just around the corner (very confusing). When I went to the one on Lee Jackson by mistake I asked if they can switch the reservation and was told NO. I did it online and went back to front desk. The price didn't match my reservation but said it will show a refund on my credit card statement. Did NOT.
Their taxes are listed under Bar charges (???? there is no bar in room).
I'll see what their 800# can do.
The room seemed fairly clean, When you check in, you need to ask for dishes and coffee maker and other things for the kitchenette which are free anyway.
I liked the convenience of being so close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
3
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean and nice big rooms. Front desk people were very helpful, especially Millie; she was very nice and helpful. You can request kitchen utensils and cook by yourself. Bid screen flat TV with a lot of channels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is dirty, with high turnover at front desk and in housekeeping. Front desk clerks are more helpful than management, which has seen turnover. Housekeeping is sloppy as all get out, with hairs, crumbs left behind in sheets or mattress covers, and inside drawers, next to night stands, etc. Pillows can be smelly, and blankets have stains or cigarette burns in them. Housekeeping often leaves fingerprints behind on items in kitchen, like the coffee maker and toaster. Housekeeping people are allowed to talk on their cell phones while cleaning rooms, which is outrageous in the extreme and reflects extremely poorly on management. Kitchen floor looked clean but was filthy dirty after wiping up a spill on the floor. Ugh. Since they have high turnover in housekeeping, one can only guess they will put up with unprofessional behavior of housekeeping just to get the rooms cleaned.. They can also be rude. If you complain to the front desk about these issues, they will begin to view you as a troublemaker, instead of as a paying guest who deservessome basic level of cleanliness and courtesy. Their attitude towards customer service is basically, they are already providing you a room at a cut rate, so you have no right to expect a modicum of cleanliness and professionalism. I don't recommend staying here at all. I would suggest you go to a Hilton Homewood Suites or Marriott Courtyard, Residence Inn, etc., where management and staff are trained to professional standards, and rooms meet decent levels of cleanliness. By and large, Extended Stay hotels are a low type of brand and can never compete with Marriott, Hiltion, and Comfort Inns. Pay a little more and stick with the higher quality places. It will be worth it.

Room Tip: Go to one of the other hotels recommended above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ended up here reluctantly when my conference hotel was sold out. I had never stayed at this chain before, but had had less than favorable experiences at similar chains. Nice surprise here. Nothing fancy at all (who would expect fancy anyway?). But, the room was clean and comfortable. Great location right at a major mall. Staff was friendly enough (not many, but friendly). Kitchen facilities were great. I would definitely stay here if I had to work in the area for a week or so. Would be better than a regular hotel if you wanted to save money and perhaps cook for yourself. Bed was a bit hard for my taste, but I still slept fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It's a great location, the mall is walking distance and the metro is 2 exits away. The staff was friendly and helpful . Also check in process is very easy . Honestly I was surprised at how good the rooms are.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The check in process was a nightmare! Unfortunately, I would later discover that it was the best part of my stay. There are bugs in the filthy room, dirty table tops, filthy kitchen, floor in bathroom was saturated-- despite the fact that I'm a handicapped person in a handicap room? The bed is also filthy. The bedding is cheap, saturated and there is gum on the head board? Dirt on the walls, stains on the carpet, dirty floors in the bathroom, rust/mold on kitchen surfaces, etc. I will update with photos after I find a suitable replacement.

I have to advise that Millie was the one saving grace in this place (and there was only one). She went out of her way to assist me and I would encourage anyone stuck in this place to speak with her.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. I can offer no better advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel smelled of cigarette smoke.

The one elevator had multiple pieces of trash in it.

The first room had dirty silverware in it.

The second room had a busted radio and the phone was disconnected.

We had to leave early due to a family emergency, although We should have left anyways.

Check out was awful. The staff that helped us seemed to be annoyed to do any work.

After we were billed, my girlfriend noticed we had been overcharged, since she's military and should have gotten a better rate.

When I asked for then to alter it, the woman began to whine and protest, but after I showed her my girlfriends military I.D. she finally discounted our bill like we originally had agreed to.

Great way to treat military?

I will never stay in this or this franchises hotel unless some big changes are made to staff and the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall

Address: 12055 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Fairfax
Extended Stay Fairfax
Fairfax Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.