We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11400 Random Hills Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Best hotel I ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Enjoyed the small kitchen fully equipped for two. Staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Location was great for the area, close to several malls, restaurants, and express way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    44
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
37
52
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed at the candlewood suites this month for 4 nights. After getting lost trying to find them i was pleasantly surprised, I had gotten a really good deal on priceline so was not expecting them to be that great.
The room is of a pretty decent size and looks to be recently upgraded with a flat screen TV and new carpet.
The bed is really comfortable and there is a choice of pillows. Having the kitchen facility is great and gives you a lot of freedom as there arent that many places nearby to eat.
Location is a little out of the way but ok if you have a car, you can take the metro into DC from the Vienna station which is the last stop on the orange line. 1 point to make, the staff at the vienna station are really really unhelpful and very rude.

Overall the hotel is great, even offers free laundry facilities and a mini gym. Oh and the "cupboard" to buy snacks and any other bits you may need.

A special note about Mohammed who works there, he is such a nice guy, really good at his job- if all hotel employees were that nice it would be great!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whetstone, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I've stayed in 8~10 Fairfax area hotels over the past 10 years, including all the "extended suites" places; Candlewood is the best value, friendliest staff, and great location. It is close to shopping and dinning, easy access to major roads, yet tucked in a quiet neighborhood. Every single time I walk past the front desk, the staff greets me with a genuine welcome. The fitness center is clean and well equipped; the laundry center is free, and the "pantry" is both convenient and well priced (no $2.00 cans of soda!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed here twice over 2 weeks, start and end of the holiday. Different desk staff each time but same brilliant service. Exactly what you need at the end of a long flight - friendly and welcoming.
Nice little self-serve lobby shop with all basics needed at low cost. Free 24 hour coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Clean, well appointed rooms. Great amenities; laundry, fitness center, free coffee/tea, food/drink itms for sale. Good staff, attentive, responsive. Have enjoyed the stay and will come back again.

Sincerely,
John Cook

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel has everything I need for long term extended stay; reasonable room rates, friendly staff, restaurants down the street within walking distance (in contrast to what a previous poster said (I walk to Bravo’s, a nice Chinese Buffet, a Korean restaurant) free washing machine and dryer, cable tv, free high speed internet, and room service once per week. For those who are not looking to rent an apartment, it is my opinion that this is the best place to stay. I stayed here last summer (’08) as well as this summer (’09). The cherry on top of all of this is the occasional free bbq’s the hotel hosts as well as free cookies.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Due to a medical necessity my husband and I needed to be in the DC area for an extended time. We talked with staff about special needs and all of those were met. Our room upon arrival had new carpet and TV and throughout our stay the hotel was upgrading all other rooms. The cleaning staff was attentive and courteous. The location was perfect for us in a lovely neighborhood with easy access to I-66. I give the staff and A+ for friendliness. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Address: 11400 Random Hills Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fairfax 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax we put the amenities where they count: in our suites. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, 2 burner stove, refrigerator ice maker, dishwasher and the utensils needed for cooking. Every guest room at the Fairfax Candlewood Suites offers free high-speed Internet, and a comfortable executive desk & chair.Enjoy free use of the hotel s fitness center, business services, and laundry facilities. Relax in an overstuffed recliner while enjoying a CD or VCR tape from the hotel s free library. The hotel also has the renowned Candlewood Cupboard, a small convenience store where you can purchase items 24/7 at a reasonable price.The pet friendly Candlewood Suites Fairfax is conveniently located near the Pentagon, NRA museum, George Mason University, Patriot Center, Dulles Expo & Conference Center, Fair Oaks Mall, and Fairfax County Courthouse. Use the Vienna Metro station just 4 miles away to visit the many area attractions in Washington, DC. Dulles Airport IAD and Reagan National Airport DCA are within 14 miles.This extended stay hotel caters to business and government travelers. Best of all, every night you stay at the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax you will earn Priority Club Rewards points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Candlewood Fairfax
Fairfax Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.