We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um, yeah...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11400 Random Hills Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Um, yeah...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Arrived very late on Wednesday night / Thanksgiving morning. Tried to use "lockbox" system to check in. My name was not listed on any of the boxes. Waited a couple minutes for someone to come let me in. Desk clerk was nice enough and check in was ok after that.

Room was a little beat up - thermostat was loose on the wall, repairs in bathroom had not been painted, escutcheon around tub faucet was loose. Kitchen was ok; refrigerator was clean inside, outside was pretty nasty on top. Surfaces other than counter tops, dresser tops, etc. were fairly dusty.

Room also smelled a little odd, but mostly like whatever food the previous occupant had cooked, so not really the fault of the hotel, I suppose. Not bad enough for my family to move to another room, either.

It was, however, extremely difficult to control the temperature in the room. The heater kept shutting down whenever we went to bed because of the "energy savings system." Very, very annoying.

Had to walk down to lobby to swap out towels/sheets for fresh. A little odd for a hotel, but I guess it saves them a fair amount of money.

I got a good deal and felt like I received a good value for what I spent, but if the Hyatt Fair Lakes ever wises up and puts a refrigerator and microwave in at least some of their rooms, we would probably choose the Hyatt over this place next time.

  • Liked — Location was great. Very convenient to I-66.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHMFairfax_Va, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, December 12, 2008
The Management and Staff at the Candlewood Suites Fairfax appreciate the comments made by this guest. We recognize that opportunities exsist to improve service and will work dillegently to address these issues. We encourage all guests to communicate with us, to let us know where we succeeded and where we have room for improvement. Please rest assured, our goal is 100% satisfaction, and if we have not achived that, we want to know. We look forward to having the opportunity to prove to our future guests, that this guests experience was not representative of the service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    41
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
35
52
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We found this property on TripAdvisor and liked the reviews. We stayed at the Candlewood Suites from Oct. 18 through Nov. 5. It served as our home-base while we volunteered on the presidential campaign. The rooms were clean, and we had everything we needed in the efficient kitchen (pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, even dishwashing liquid!). The beds were very comfortable, and we had three choices of pillow softness, which worked perfectly for my husband and me. The property has beautiful trees around it, and our rooms looked out at a lovely wooded garden that separated the property from the nearby townhomes. I enjoyed watching the colors change on the trees over the course of our 2.5 weeks. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They met all our needs with courtesy. We made use of both the free gym and free laundry. The handy convenience store provided an easy cup of coffee every day, also complimentary. For newpaper junkies like us, it was very convenient to have the Washington Post right outside the front door, and we appreciated the compimentary USA Today as well. Getting to the metro station was an easy 5-minute drive, and there were several restaurants nearby. We highly recommend this place for touring or working. We would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very helpful, location was ideal
  • Disliked — internet is dial-up rather than wireless
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

I highly recommend this place as it's clean, quiet and safe. We found it most convenient to go to Washington D.C. and easy to go shopping as long as you have a car. The staff are friendly and helpful. On top of the above, it is very affordable compared with the high room rates in the city of Washington. we don't mind spending half and hour or so going for business and returning. It is just like staying at home.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were attending a family event locally and wanted low cost accommodations for one evening. I checked the area and check Travel Advisor and settled on the Candlewood in Fairfax. I have had ok experiences with other Candlewood locations when traveling for work.

Cost was ~78 dollars with AAA discount and I setup reservations for a suite, non-smoking with a queen and a pull out sofa and I asked for a cot as my sons do not want to sleep in the same bed. I told OK and get a reservation number.

So what did we get…

Queen, smoking, no cot, no towels, not enough blankets, no wash clothes.

I did get towels for the front desk, we went to get the sheets for the pull out sofa, after the staff of one brought up the cot.

To be fair – one man in a hotel of that size, in what is rapidly becoming a rundown modern hotel, is doomed to provide an unacceptable level of service.

The fellow at the front desk did give us an additional 10% discount but I would have preferred to get what we booked…

“A clean, non-smoking room with complete linens with beds as reserved”

So no more Candlewood for me or anyone I can pass the message to.

Chris

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHMFairfax_Va, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, December 12, 2008
The Management and Team at the Candlewood Suites Fairfax appreciate the comments made by this guest. Since this incident occured we have renewed guest service training and added support mechanisms to assist our team members in providing guests with the service they expect and deserve. We encourage all prospective guests that are viewing these reviews to feel free at any time to contact the General Manager, Dave Monroe should they have any questions or to us know if we have met their expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

I have to agree entirely with the two thumbs up. We visited DC for three weeks (and still didn't see everything - what an incredible city!). A downtown hotel would have been prohibitively expensive and besides, who needs to have the room made up every day? The Candlewood cleans the room once a week, but fresh towels are available at the desk anytime.

We paid around $90/night, far less than in DC, and taxes are lower. In addition we saved a fortune by eating in. Sure, we like restaurants and we did go out a few times (try Ethiopian in DC), but night after night? After a full day of sightseeing we just wanted to take off our shoes and sit comfortably. The Wegmans nearby has a fantastic selection of prepared foods, including Chinese, Thai, pasta and Caesar salads made to order, as well as roast chickens, etc. There's a Chili's around the corner, with a good pizzeria next door to it. All far cheaper than a restaurant, especially if you buy wine and/or beer. You can sit in comfort at your table in the room and put the leftovers in the fridge.

To get into DC we drove to the last Metro stop and took their safe, comfortable public transit. The places you want to see mostly don't open till 9:30 anyway and close by 5, with not a lot of nightlife. So the extra travel time is no serious problem, and you get to know the city and its people better.

You know how some hotels nickel and dime you with charges? This place is the opposite. For laundry, washers and dryers are free. There's a small shop operated on the honor system. You can take soft drinks, snacks and even some small frozen meals, all at reasonable prices for which you deposit money or a chit with your room number. There's a supply of free condiments like mustard, ketchup, mayo and soy sauce. There's also a VCR in the room, with a selection of videos you can borrow at the front desk, all for free.

The staff here is really commendable. They seem to actually enjoy their jobs. For the whole three weeks everyone we saw was friendly, to us and to other guests. The manager threw a BBQ with free food and beer for the guests.

I think that extended-stay places are great ways of touring a city if you're going to be in the area for more than a few days. I just with they were built closer in. In the meantime, I'd definitely recommend this Candlewood and plan to try others.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Distance from city
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2004

We stayed 3 nights at Candlewood Suites (6/4/2004 - 6/6/2004). It was a very nice place to stay. The desk people were friendly, and the amenities were great. Free use of laundry room, exercise room, free VCR movies to watch in room, a well stocked snack room are just a few of the things that make this a nice place to stay. The rooms are nice, with a queen bed, kitchen with stove top, micro wave oven, fridge, sink and dishwasher. They supply eating and cooking utensils as well as paper towels, dish washing liquid and dishwasher powder. The freezer has an icemaker too. It had all the comforts that we needed during our stay. Grocery store, 7-11, and gas station were only 3 blocks away. DC takes 20 - 30 minutes to get to depending on traffic (which always seems to be bad no matter where you go around DC). I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable and quiet place to stay for a few days. Happy trails.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Candlewood Suites Fairfax Hotel
Candlewood Fairfax
Fairfax Candlewood
Fairfax Candlewood Suites
Address: 11400 Random Hills Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fairfax 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax we put the amenities where they count: in our suites. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, 2 burner stove, refrigerator ice maker, dishwasher and the utensils needed for cooking. Every guest room at the Fairfax Candlewood Suites offers free high-speed Internet, and a comfortable executive desk & chair.Enjoy free use of the hotel s fitness center, business services, and laundry facilities. Relax in an overstuffed recliner while enjoying a CD or VCR tape from the hotel s free library. The hotel also has the renowned Candlewood Cupboard, a small convenience store where you can purchase items 24/7 at a reasonable price.The pet friendly Candlewood Suites Fairfax is conveniently located near the Pentagon, NRA museum, George Mason University, Patriot Center, Dulles Expo & Conference Center, Fair Oaks Mall, and Fairfax County Courthouse. Use the Vienna Metro station just 4 miles away to visit the many area attractions in Washington, DC. Dulles Airport IAD and Reagan National Airport DCA are within 14 miles.This extended stay hotel caters to business and government travelers. Best of all, every night you stay at the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax you will earn Priority Club Rewards points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.