We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3950 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn while attending a nearby family wedding.
On the plus side: our room was squeaky clean with standard, comfortable furnishings. In addition to a coffee maker, there was a microwave and a small fridge which would make storing and heating take out, etc a convenience.
We used Hilton HHonors membership points towards a free, cooked to order breakfast for two each day. The normal cost of the breakfast buffet is $10.95 per person and is a fairly good value at that price. Food was fresh and tasty with a large range of choices. The morning staff in the restaurant were more than pleasant and efficient as were all staff we encountered.
The hotel is really handy to Dulles airport which is within a 20 minute drive when the traffic is light.
On the negative side: this hotel has several large function rooms and seems to do a booming business hosting all sorts of events. Our room (#203) was located directly above the entrance courtyard to the function area as are many of the hotel's rooms. On our first night (friday) we noticed a large gathering of fairly mature adults partying away. When their function ended at around 11 pm, several of the group gathered on the benches in the courtyard and proceeded to scream and yell and laugh like crazy - this went on until at least 1:40 am. We like to sleep in a cold room and so cranked up the a/c to drown out the commotion. As the unit turned itself off when it periodically reached the desired temperature, we would awaken once again to the shrieking and hollering. I suppose we should have called the front desk and made a fuss but felt that would only add to an already uncomfortable situation.
On Saturday night, a large wedding was held in the same space. We clearly heard the thumping music which didn't particularly bother us while we were still awake and nervously waited for more nonsense from noisy revelers. We were pleasantly surprised when, at the stroke of 11pm, the music stopped and the guests quietly left the hotel. The rest of the night was silent.
So perhaps the function rooms aren't always a big problem, but I would strongly suggest that early to bed folk or light sleepers request a room on the opposite side of the building from the function area.
Despite the noise issue, we enjoyed our stay. We felt it was a good value and the friendly, courteous staff made up for the rudeness of a few party animals!

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the building away from the function area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    84
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
130
82
42
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with my family for two days. It was an excellent place for the price we paid through hotwire. It was a clean hotel. Staff was good. Has a small shopping mall across which was convenient, with a super market, a small restaurant/coffee shop and a nice Chinese restaurant etc. Free car park and internet access is a plus. I did not pay for the breakfast but no problem as there are many places closeby including across the road [walkable]. Has a clean pool and gym.

Room Tip: closer to the elevators are better, otherwise you have a long walk as there is only one set of eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax as I had a two day session with a customer in nearby Centreville. After some research, I opted for this hotel as it seemed to be the best option a 20 minute ride from the offices. I didn't have a car and had to rely on taxis - there's not much within walking distance of the hotel. There's a strip mall across the way with a nice, big 24 hour grocery store and a few random restaurants.

As for the hotel, it catered towards business travelers. The staff were efficient and kind and the service level was pretty good. The room was a bit nicer than a standard room - it was comfy and a little homey, not completely sterile. Maybe it's because I knew I had a few days there so I opted to settle in.

Bathroom was just ok. The products are Bath and Body Works. The bathroom was nothing to rave about but it was a good size and clean. There's an ice machine down the hall and a station to buy random food items in the lobby. I had the buffet breakfast two mornings in a row - it's $10 for the non-customized option.

I met a friend in DC for dinner one night and she drove me home, which was a 45 minute ride. I didn't realize it was that far! Traffic is terrible in the DC area so if you're looking at this hotel as your DC option, definitely look closer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, most of the accolades for this location should be reserved for the staff because that's the real difference here. The hotel is clean, very convenient to locations in Fairfax, and has a Harris Teeter supermarket very close by for longer stays. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at this location while attending training at a vendor site. The staff was very helpful throughout my four night stay. The rooms, while a bit dated, were very clean and comfortable. I loved the abundance of fluffy towels. I arrived late on Monday evening about 10 minutes shy of the close of the restaurant, but room service accepted my order and the asian shrimp salad was very good, so good in fact that I ordered the same thing the second night.
The business center was very well organized and fully stocked, even with a stamp machine. The restaurant staff was very attentive and greeted guests each morning with a pleasant smile. The made-to-order and standard choices were of a different variety daily and very good. Overall, a very good stay where, if I was in the area again, I would select this property. There is an abundance of shopping, places to each, etc. a short drive from the property.

Room Tip: oops. there is no spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked this room on an internet site, and was very happy with the price ($99 incl. tax and fees). Got to the hotel and decided to stay another noght. Room was in a good location, quiet, and very comfortable. Front desk and service staff very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My sister and I went to a convention in Reston and while a hotel in that city would have been more convenient, I knew I could expect friendly staff, a great breakfast and a clean room at Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax. The staff was super friendly and the breakfast buffet was great, especially the omelet bar. The HGI Fairfax was an easy drive from the convention in Reston. Everyone made our stay there very nice. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.3 mi away
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
#11 of 21 in Fairfax
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Address: 3950 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#1 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.