We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai by Thai

Thai by Thai
10955 Fairfax Blvd, Suite 108, Fairfax, VA 22030
7032791595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 356 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Hard to find parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a sort of fast food Thai place you order at the counter then they bring it to you. I guess that is how they keep the prices a little bit lower than some of the other Thai places in the area. I only had the Thai fried rice which was really good and the chicken sate which I did not like one bit. The chicken tasted wierd the sate sauce was very spicy. I would probably not go back considering there are many other Thai places in the area that I like better. The food here was okay but, the place was very small and crowed maybe 8 or 9 tables and the parking was horrible. I had to park in the lot down the street and walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great value Thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a small cafe type restaurant with a seating capacity ~25. Smallish and cozy. When you get there, you can review the menu on the side wall before ordering at the cashier. While the menu is not huge, it has all the Thai essentials - pad thai and noodles, tom yum soup, curries, sticky rice etc. After ordering, you will be given a number and the kitchen starts on your order. All dishes are very Thai authentic and in good portion sizes. Our family of 4 (2 boys aged 11 and 14) normally order the sun dried beef and satay or wings, a tom yum or tom kha soup for appetizers. Our entrée typically includes a noodle - pad thai or noodle soup, a crab fried rice and another "new" item on the menu. For drinks, we sometimes go for the Thai ice tea but it's always too sweet. To finish, we have the mango with sticky rice (need to be in mango season). My boys would just have the coconut stick rice on its own without the mango. As always, everyones' really contented after the meal here.

Strongly recommended if you want to try some authentic Thai food - no frills and affordable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a nice neighborhood Thai restaurant, they cook your food to order, and you can order degree of heat. Beware ordering Thai hot, they do it right!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fre Been here many times and am always please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good. Love the pad ginger. Always fresh. Difficult parking sometimes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Never visited, but the pad thai is SO tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I am not a big Thai food lover; the first time I tried pad thai was from this place. A co-worker convinced me to order with him, so I tried regular pad thai with chicken, and he went to pick it up.

I was pleasantly surprised with how light and tasty it was. It was not as heavy or alien to me as I thought it would be. They use thinner, lighter noodles and plenty of good quality chicken. I usually have leftovers. It was a good way to foray into the Thai food experience for me!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai by Thai also viewed

 

Been to Thai by Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai by Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.