We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ozzie's Corner Italian

Ozzie's Corner Italian
11880 Grand Commons Ave, Fairfax, VA 22030-8614
571-321-8000
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 341 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“consistently delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have visited this restaurant numerous times and always had delicious food. The fish is perfectly cooked and they are more than willing to provide substitutions. They serve an absolutely perfectly chilled vodka martini with these great blue cheese stuffed olives. The calamari was as light as pillows and much more tasty, of course. The short ribs are tender and filling, while the beef fillet is always a perfectly cooked medium and tender. This restaurant serves my favorite dessert, prunes (or more recently diplomatically termed, plums) in a wine reduction with mascarpone and candied nuts, which is divine and light after a filling meal. This place fills up fast so call ahead or arrive early. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    44
    53
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“My favorite of the Great American's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is my favorite of the Great American Resteraunts, though I would aim to go at off hours. I think it's a favorite because it has decent wine. The food is good, and the service was decent every time I've been.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food had great flavor... true italian! Able to take your time and truely enjoy. Could actually taste the fresh basil in the salad with a light yet flavorful dressing. A refreshing change from most of the chain restaurants although many of them are also good.
Convenient location in upsale shops with lovely atmosphere.
Slightly noisy so not good for any intimate dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CUISINE AND SERVICE, VERY NICE AMBIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ozzie's Corner in the Fairfax Corner shopping center is a great place to have lunch or dinner. It is part of the Great American restaurant chain that has so many great restaurants in the Washington DC area (Coastal Flats, Mike's American, Carlyle Grand, etc). Recently lunch here included Ozzie's take on crab cakes. Delicious, well presented and importantly it all went down well. Ozzie's lets you freely substitute sides and will personalize; for example, I requested no salt on the fries with no hesitation from the server. The server was very competent, prompt, pleasant or in other words all you can ever expect out of a good server. Previously, I have enjoyed Lasagna and chicken dishes at Ozzie's. My friend enjoyed on this visit a fish special involving rainbow trout. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for a group or couple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is part of the Great American Chain of restaurants. The menu wasn't as large as I was hoping for, but who's really that hungry after feasting on those amazing donut bread rolls??? We started off with the bruschetta (definitely recommend) and the oysters. We had a range of mains...salmon, steak, pasta, and chicken and we all enjoyed our meals.

We didn't have one waiter but rather several different people. We took our time early on to enjoy our drinks and appetizers, but then it was difficult to get waited on after that. I would probably go back, but not right away. The atmosphere is nice but feels cramped when crowded.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozzie's Corner Italian also viewed

 

Been to Ozzie's Corner Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ozzie's Corner Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.