We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay near DC for family of 4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Crandall, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent stay near DC for family of 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is superb. We are not world travelers, but budget travelers on our first trip to DC. I used some Marriott points to get this hotel and it was by far the best hotel we stayed in on our trip. The breakfast was delicious each day - fresh eggs (not instant), meats, fruits, etc. The hotel appears to be very new, the employees were very helpful. A great stay for our family of 4 with 2 teens. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear BBoyDTF,

We are so glad to hear you and your family had a great trip to our Nation’s Capital! The Washington D.C. Metro Area is rich with history, patriotic culture, and delicious food. We hope your family has fond memories of this trip and our hotel for years to come. Thanks for making us part of the experience!

Warm Regards,

Residence Inn Manager
ri.iadrf.agm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
24
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, and really was impressed with this hotel, especially given the low price. For $89 a night, you're just not going to do any better than this, in any city. It's a fairly new hotel, so everything is still very clean and neat. The lobby is nice, and the breakfast area is probably the most comfortable breakfast area I've seen in any hotel. There were a lot of people around, but it never felt crowded. The room was spotless, and a decent size. Really liked having a separate seating/couch area and full kitchen. The bed was comfortable, the wifi signal was strong, and I really liked having a large glass enclosed shower in lieu of the standard tub. This hotel was perfectly located for our needs, roughly equal distance from Washington DC, Jiffy Lube Live (concert venue), and Dulles Airport, all of which were less than half an hour away. Hotel staff were very friendly during check-in and check-out. I really have nothing negative to say about this hotel, except for maybe the patterned concrete that you have to roll your luggage over when going to/from your vehicle in the parking lot, but that's really the only thing I would change. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area, without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear TravelinDaveHead,

Thank you for letting us know about your great experience! We hope you had a great time at your concert at Jiffy Lube Live, and got to enjoy some of the fun our city has to offer. Keep an eye out for great concerts at the Patriot Center and Wolf Trap too! We heard Bastille has a concert coming up in October.

Thank you again!

Residence Inn Management
ri.iadrf.agm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice lobby and dining area. Breakfast selection seems to be a lot better than the other Residence Inns that I have stayed in recently. Comfortable rooms (good size and quiet) and reasonable rates. Location not within a walkable distance to retail or restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear TravelNow2011db,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to let us know your thoughts! We are so glad that you loved our lobby. It’s a great place to do some work, or watch TV and relax. Next time you are in the area try Fuddruckers’s or Smash Burger for a great burger or Bombay Bistro for something more eclectic. Our favorite is Dolce Vita. They make amazing Italian food! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the review.

Best Regards,

Residence Inn Management
Ri.iadrf.agm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad,Iraq
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

It was really Excellent ,perfect location ,Quite,very clean ,modern furniture,Big rooms with full kitchen plus sofa ,large parking ,in the center of all what you need you can get it by walk
Breakfast buffet need more attention and add so more items,Dinner also was free of charge
Nice and big lobby .
Big room and big clean modern bathroom
Just one of the reception staff was slow and weak during check out her name is Yasi but all other things was perfect .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a one-night stay early this week. The room is comfortable, nicely laid out, and has a comfortable bed and work space (including comfortable seating to meet with a person or three). The breakfast is very good.

However, the desk drawer was full of trash (used tissues, gum wrappers, old lipsticks); there were used toothpicks underneath the phone on one nightstand; the lamp on the other nightstand didn't work; the bottom drawer of the dresser wouldn't stay closed, and the lampshade on the desk lamp was very wobbly because the nut on top was stripped. So, what could have been an "excellent" room becomes merely "average."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear PHLRick,

We really appreciate you letting us know about your experience at our hotel. Comments like yours help us improve our service and focus our attention on the details that make our rooms excellent. Let us know next time you’re in the area and we’ll be sure to go the extra mile for you. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback!

Best Regards,

Residence Inn Fairfax City Manager
ri.iadrf.agm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This Residence Inn in Fairfax is definitely one of my favorite. I previously stayed at a RI in Long Island and was not all that impressive. Traveled to DC from NYC, made a stop at Washington. Then Continued right down to Fairfax to then head back to the capital the following morning. About a 15-20 min ride from Fairfax to Washington. At this location the room was very spacious, CLEAN and comfy. Up to date with all of its appliances. Loved the dual shower head. Traveled with two youngsters, they seemed to enjoyed it even more than I did. Complimentary Breakfast was excellent, great selection of food, dining area was very comfortable. Although, I did stay for only one night, it was very pleasant, wish I could have extended my stay. Front desk and staff was very welcoming and helpful. Overall excellent experience, area felt safe and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This Residence Inn is one of the nicest and cleanest I have ever stayed in. I was working at all 5 of the Inova hospitals and this hotel is fairly convenient to all of them. There are a lot of places to eat very close to the hotel and the staff is always friendly and helpful! This is where I will stay for any future trips I have to DC!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Bobby L,

Thank you so much for being our first review in April!! I will be sure to share your kind comments about our friendliness with the staff. I'm glad you found our location convenient for your work. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can help you with in the future.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your experience!!

Best Regards,

Residence Inn Fairfax City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
2.5 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
4.3 mi away
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
#11 of 21 in Fairfax
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.