We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's #1 for a reason...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's #1 for a reason...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend visit. It's a great location, just off I-66 - I would recommend renting a car as the area is VERY suburban with not much within walking distance. The property was recently built and is well maintained and the common area is very convenient. The free breakfast is definite plus. My room was clean and efficient. Everything had its place.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, I think all rooms would be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
20
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Residence Inn Fairfax City. Property is modern, very clean, and attractive. Rooms are spacious with full kitchen, sitting room, bedroom & bath. Staff is friendly and attentive. Complementary breakfast is terrific! Weekend rate is great value.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was in Fairfax on business, and being a big fan of Marriott, I was excited that this Residence Inn was only about one mile from where I was working. It is a relatively new property, and it is beautiful! From the moment you step into the lobby, you are greeted by staff members who act like they enjoy their jobs, and are genuinely glad that you are a guest. Every encounter I had with a hotel employee let me know that this is an attitude that runs deep throughout the property.

The hotel room decor is modern, but very comfortable. The bed, the room layout (I had a one-bedroom suite), the kitchen accessories, the living room furniture - all great!

I was able to partake of some of the daily breakfast and dinner options in the hotel, and while not gourmet (which is not expected), everything was fresh and tasty. Service in the dining area was prompt and cordial.

All around - a great place to stay - and I look forward to returning to the hotel very soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is simply amazing! I am not overrating but i had an awesome experience and i think that even if the infrastructure is not the best or the hotel is not nearby any touristic attraction. The staff is EXCELLENT I can say that because i stayed in this hotel for two weeks and during my stay i was pampered. for example: during the hurricane Irene the management bought social games to entertain us during the storm and also during the earthquake that occurred in Virginia we also have been evacuated in a very professional way even though it was the first earthquake in VA in the last 100 years.
Another positive point is that the hotel is very calm and there is no crowd and it is situated near the exist so it's 15 min away from Washington DC in the car
PS: I stayed at this hotel in August 2011(the official date is FALSE)

Room Tip: rooms in the extreme left and right of the floor are better because they are away from the noisy ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way out of town, while the movers were moving our stuff from our home in Fairfax City for our move to Florida. We have both stayed in many Residence Inns, and this one is truly a step up. The rooms are beautifully appointed and seem larger than in other Residence properties.

The breakfast is excellent, and the serving staff is gracious and prompt. (But, for a REAL breakfast go south on Chain Bridge Road (VA 123) about two blocks to US 29. Take a right (west) and go a couple of blocks to the 29 Diner...a classic landmark and a genuine diner.)

Public transportation to this property is possible, but the local CUE bus stops running about 8 p.m., so a car really is needed here.

For dinner, go south on Chain Bridge Road to old town Fairfax. Many choices...

Or go north on Chain Bridge Road into Oakton...Famous Dave's BBQ is excellent.

Or, ask for directions to Curry Mantra...a truly excellent Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went in for the Inaugural in DC but all the places to stay in DC and close in were horrendously expensive. But, by following the Metro lines out to their end, we were able to find other properties that had not raised their prices and ended up at this Residence Inn. We had ample room, the whole place was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was quite expansive. The best thing, though, was that it was a short drive to the Metro stop and we had no problems getting downtown for the Inaugural. It is helpful to have a car, since you're out in the suburbs, but there are plenty of eating and shopping places not too far and it's a quick drive out to the country for a change of scenery. All in all it was an excellent choice. The swimming pool looks fine, but is an outdoor pool so it's closed for the winter.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, which makes it easy to get to the front lobby or out to our car. No gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed here several times to visit family in the hotel. We have always received excellent assistance and service. With two little ones under age four, this has always been our choice of hotel. We tried to stay at a sister chain once but they did not have breakfast included and the hotel pack and plays were not complete with a cover play. The Fairfax City Residence Inn provides freshly washed coverplays and bath toys every time, making this very convenient for travel with an already crowded car. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.