We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A notch above the usual Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A notch above the usual Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way out of town, while the movers were moving our stuff from our home in Fairfax City for our move to Florida. We have both stayed in many Residence Inns, and this one is truly a step up. The rooms are beautifully appointed and seem larger than in other Residence properties.

The breakfast is excellent, and the serving staff is gracious and prompt. (But, for a REAL breakfast go south on Chain Bridge Road (VA 123) about two blocks to US 29. Take a right (west) and go a couple of blocks to the 29 Diner...a classic landmark and a genuine diner.)

Public transportation to this property is possible, but the local CUE bus stops running about 8 p.m., so a car really is needed here.

For dinner, go south on Chain Bridge Road to old town Fairfax. Many choices...

Or go north on Chain Bridge Road into Oakton...Famous Dave's BBQ is excellent.

Or, ask for directions to Curry Mantra...a truly excellent Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
19
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went in for the Inaugural in DC but all the places to stay in DC and close in were horrendously expensive. But, by following the Metro lines out to their end, we were able to find other properties that had not raised their prices and ended up at this Residence Inn. We had ample room, the whole place was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was quite expansive. The best thing, though, was that it was a short drive to the Metro stop and we had no problems getting downtown for the Inaugural. It is helpful to have a car, since you're out in the suburbs, but there are plenty of eating and shopping places not too far and it's a quick drive out to the country for a change of scenery. All in all it was an excellent choice. The swimming pool looks fine, but is an outdoor pool so it's closed for the winter.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, which makes it easy to get to the front lobby or out to our car. No gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed here several times to visit family in the hotel. We have always received excellent assistance and service. With two little ones under age four, this has always been our choice of hotel. We tried to stay at a sister chain once but they did not have breakfast included and the hotel pack and plays were not complete with a cover play. The Fairfax City Residence Inn provides freshly washed coverplays and bath toys every time, making this very convenient for travel with an already crowded car. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The staff is very welcoming and friendly, the location is close enough to DC and other area activities without having to pay the price for being in the city, and the rooms are HUGE and very clean. Even though the hotel is designed for an extended stay experience, I would still recommend it for just a night or two if you have to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is a stand out! Staff are top notch - helpful, friendly and so nice! Hotel is beautiful - rooms are spacious, well laid out and comfortable. Breakfast is outstanding. Excellent selection and quality. I stayed for 5 days for business and was very happy with everything.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites. Each one is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I wasn't expecting this to be such a nice hotel. Our room was incredible - huge bed, comfortable L shaped couch, full kitchen, really nice bathroom - everything felt new and clean. I actually wished we were staying another night and not moving on.

We are American but live in South America - we have gotten very tired of substandard hotel rooms at exorbitant prices in Chile so this was a welcome opportunity to stay in a great hotel at a very reasonable price. In Chile for this price, we would hope to have hot water but wouldn't be shocked if we didn't! sigh.

We heartily recommend this hotel if you are in the area. it is a great bargain and makes for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If I had to be in Fairfax for an extended period of time and had to live in a hotel, here is where I would stay. Very nice rooms, super comfy bed, spacious, nice large flat screen TV, separate large sectional couch area, desk, WiFi, huge kitchen with full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, microwave - everything you need. Super nice breakfast downstairs each morning and really friendly staff. We loved our stay here. We were in town for a Dec 1 wedding. Really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.