We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“What a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If I had to be in Fairfax for an extended period of time and had to live in a hotel, here is where I would stay. Very nice rooms, super comfy bed, spacious, nice large flat screen TV, separate large sectional couch area, desk, WiFi, huge kitchen with full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, microwave - everything you need. Super nice breakfast downstairs each morning and really friendly staff. We loved our stay here. We were in town for a Dec 1 wedding. Really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
21
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times since it opened. What an incredible place!
The staff is outstanding. The rooms are spacious with very large baths. There is a fully equipped small kitchen if you need it. Breakfast is included and there's plenty to choose from!
Right off of Route 66 and very convenient for Northern VA and D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn in Fairfax City for a couple of one week stays and also for a month while waiting to move into my permanent residence. This is a beautiful new hotel super convenient to everything. While the hotel and rooms are wonderful what shines even more are the staff who consistently went above and beyond any hotel I've ever stayed at. Big thanks to Nashan, Monyinette, and for making my move to Virginia the best it could possibly be.

Oddly enough I prefer the studio rooms to the 1 bedrooms which are on the ends of the building. Also wifi is better the more towards the center of the building. Otherwise this is a great hotel, can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: A room towards the center of the building again is best either facing north or east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a surprise the Residence Inn was - as a frequent international business traveller it was so much better than I was expecting and much better than many expensive 5 star hotels I have stayed in lately. It is obvious that Marriott have really done their research and have got the formula for this hotel type really right. it is not very imposing on the outside however inside is well decorated. The apartment type layout is really comfortable and very well decorated. Bathrooms are spotless, spacious and generally the staff were pleasant and helpful. Dont expect fancy restaurants or bar service - this is just not that kind of place, however the breakfast was good. If you like to dine out, you may be disappointed if you want anything other than family type chain restaurants. You will also need a car to get here as it isnt near any easy transport routes. A cab from Dulles airport took me 45 minutes and cost about $60.00. But times can vary as my colleagues got stuck in traffic and reported the trip took much longer.

also appreciated the opening windows however it was a bitter disappointment to hear the loud drone of the airconditioning units on both sides of my room so ended up closing my windows just to get some peace and quiet.

Highly recommend this property because of the high standard of the rooms.

Room Tip: It is on a busy road so ask for rooms at rear if you prefer quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonavista, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

WOW ... Great staff ... super rooms ... great price!!! Just off Highway 66. Stay here ... you won't be disappointed. Very very nice hotel. Great value for your money! Very clean ... very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I like DC hotels and actually got this at a very good price on Priceline as I was going to be at our Fairfax, VA office and what a great surprise.

In a bit of a crowded area in Fairfax but when I pulled into the with plenty of parking it became a bit of an oasis. Checkin lady could not have been more pleasant, my room was huge, clean, great TV, huge bathroom and it was at a terrific price.

Spent a bit of time in the lobby and it was such a comfortable place to relax, I ended up working there for about an hour and it just felt like a home.

Certainly my new favorite hotel in ther Fairfax area and it deserves a 5 for this stay.

Room Tip: Get the nice lady at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm hard to please and I take many of the things that hotels do well for granted...that's what they're there for.

I tend to concentrate on the not so goods but with this hotel it's hard to find anything that's really worthy of criticism.

The rooms are excellent with good cooking facilities if you're staying a while. They are super clean and there's a good desk to work at and the internet is free and reliable.

Breakfast is included and is a good spread.

The staff are friendly and efficient.

So let's look at the "not so goods"...It's a shame the hotel doesn't have a proper bar and a regular restaurant. As a long stay focused place maybe these are not high on the list and there are plenty of places to eat and drink within walking distance.

Fuddruckers, Hooters, Red Lobster can all be walked to and there's a bar nearby as well so you'll not starve or die of thirst.

The hotel keeps a stock of beer and snacks which just about covers simple eventualites that you'd use a mini bar for normally.

This is a hotel that you can wholeheartedly recommend and know you won't be let down. There can't be much higher praise than that.

Room Tip: Corridors are quite long. Get a room near the elevator if you don't want the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.