We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice cozy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Although this is the smallest room I've ever had at a Residence Inn it served the purposed quite nicely for my weeklong Paul Rolland Violin Workshop at George Mason University. The room appeared new and clean without any of that dreaded cleaning products smell. The kitchen was sparsely by well appointed with utensils in good repair. The light levels were a bit low due to the new CF lights required by law.

The bed quickly let me drift off to sleep and the curtains blocked all the night time light pollution. The latter particularly important since my room looked out over a car dealership. The front desk staff was without exception, pleasant & helpful at every interaction. Even on the second floor the room was blissfully quiet.

The only complaint lies with the room layout. Who thinks it is a good idea to put the AC outlet at the end of the bed? Who wants to sleep with that blowing on you all night. Thankfully, the curtains could be pulled across the outlet and held in place with a chair to deflect the breeze. The AC unit was quiet however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car dealership side if you like to have the curtains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
24
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights, and it was a huge disappointment. The reviews sounded excellent, but perhaps my expectations were too high or unrealistic. We arrived at 7:30pm on July 5th and were not offered any social hour food, even though it closes at 7:30pm. Then, we find out it only is offered mon-thurs. I asked for a fifth floor room for quiet and peace during the reservation booking but, we were placed on the third floor. We were celebrating our anniversary and my birthday in the nation's Capitol, so you might think something would have been mentioned once we arrived. But, no, just keys to room 302.
We experienced excessive noise for four nights in a row. Kids screaming, chairs dragging, cabinets slamming, all of this at midnight. We called three times and nothing was done. We even asked to be moved and no response or resolution. We should give this hotel two stars, but the housekeeping staff was excellent,. Best part of the hotel, very friendly and accommodating.
The hotel is close to the metro orange line and freeway access, but not much else about this hotel that I would recommend. Get the highest floor room you can. Price was average. Breakfast was decent, but nothing spectacular.
Water pressure for the shower is extremely weak, especially after walking all day in the humidity of DC and wanting a hot pressure shower on your back.

Room Tip: Suites will not get cool in the bedroom, also, get the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great place to stay when you visit Washington! The metro is very close.The hotel is one year old and is the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are big and the lobby and reception area are fantastic!
Used the BBQ twice and enjoyed the little pool in the 103 degree weather. The work out room is well equiped and it is a pet friendly hotel. Breakfast was good and the staff were quick at cleaning up and they were very nice.
Check in to check out was flawless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend and absolutely loved it! We had our two children with us and they slept on the pull out sofa which they found very comfortable. The room was big enough for the four of us to move around without bumping into one another and we found it to be very comfortable to relax in. The kitchen was just big enough for our quick visits to the room and a cup of coffee or two. There is a full fridge for left overs or groceries. We did not swim but the pool looked clean and refreshing... and not crowded at all. Our stay came with a delicious hot buffet that offered a very wide selection to meet all of our dietary needs. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. It is not very close to DC proper but it is only a short drive to a metro. We did not venture into the city on this particular trip as it was our 7th time visiting but have stayed outside of the city once prior and the metro is very convenient for family travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'm a fan of Residence Inn Hotels and always trying to stay in them only. This one is the best hotel I have ever been especially in DC area. It's very clean, comfortable and looks new. Staff is great and professional. The bad is that the hotel is far from DC but it is not that far from Dulles airport and Tyson's Corner Shopping Center. You'll not regret of staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After reading the tripadvisor reviews, spent a week in this hotel. Everything the reviewers said was accurate. The hotel is outstanding. They built it with 7000 pound concrete which means you can't hear anything through the walls. The location is back from the highway so its quiet at nite. We had a 1st floor room, a studio, great for 2 located back by the pool and on the parking lot side , not my first choice (1st floor) but the week before the trip I fractured my foot so was in a cast and wanted easy access. The hotel allows dogs but never heard one bark but did see a few in the hallways so they were there. Took a few hours to find the room safe, not in the usual closet location. I'm a light sleeper so I really like the fact you could set the ventilation fan on constant low speed, generated enough "white noise" so you didn't even hear a door closing at nite. This hotel is close to the orange metro lline (the "orange crush" during rush hour). They added additional trains this spring, made a difference. I had to think hard about a "con" for this hotel, maybe its the 720 line TV. I'm so used to 1080p that I didn't enjoy watching anything but the news. (pretty minor complaint) but the WiFi worked great. nough said.

Room Tip: Parking lot side low floor, puts you behind the trees for street noise and away from freeway. Parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Residence Inn was a great place to stay for our recent trip to DC. The hotel is new in 2011 and very clean, modern furnishings. All rooms have kitchen with granite countertops, stainless appliances, dishwasher, stove, and fridge. Feels very upscale for a very affordable price. Complimentary breakfast available if you don't feel like cooking. We were able to prepare lunches for each of our days out in DC. King Room with sofabed was a little cramped when using the sofabed but would have been fine if not using it. Would be nice to be able to view tv from both King bed and sofabed as this was not an option. Would have liked it if pool was open later than 8 pm as most days we did not return before this time. Metro station was a convenient 5 minute drive away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
2.5 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
4.3 mi away
Hyatt FairFax at Fair Lakes
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
#11 of 21 in Fairfax
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.