We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'm a fan of Residence Inn Hotels and always trying to stay in them only. This one is the best hotel I have ever been especially in DC area. It's very clean, comfortable and looks new. Staff is great and professional. The bad is that the hotel is far from DC but it is not that far from Dulles airport and Tyson's Corner Shopping Center. You'll not regret of staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
20
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After reading the tripadvisor reviews, spent a week in this hotel. Everything the reviewers said was accurate. The hotel is outstanding. They built it with 7000 pound concrete which means you can't hear anything through the walls. The location is back from the highway so its quiet at nite. We had a 1st floor room, a studio, great for 2 located back by the pool and on the parking lot side , not my first choice (1st floor) but the week before the trip I fractured my foot so was in a cast and wanted easy access. The hotel allows dogs but never heard one bark but did see a few in the hallways so they were there. Took a few hours to find the room safe, not in the usual closet location. I'm a light sleeper so I really like the fact you could set the ventilation fan on constant low speed, generated enough "white noise" so you didn't even hear a door closing at nite. This hotel is close to the orange metro lline (the "orange crush" during rush hour). They added additional trains this spring, made a difference. I had to think hard about a "con" for this hotel, maybe its the 720 line TV. I'm so used to 1080p that I didn't enjoy watching anything but the news. (pretty minor complaint) but the WiFi worked great. nough said.

Room Tip: Parking lot side low floor, puts you behind the trees for street noise and away from freeway. Parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Residence Inn was a great place to stay for our recent trip to DC. The hotel is new in 2011 and very clean, modern furnishings. All rooms have kitchen with granite countertops, stainless appliances, dishwasher, stove, and fridge. Feels very upscale for a very affordable price. Complimentary breakfast available if you don't feel like cooking. We were able to prepare lunches for each of our days out in DC. King Room with sofabed was a little cramped when using the sofabed but would have been fine if not using it. Would be nice to be able to view tv from both King bed and sofabed as this was not an option. Would have liked it if pool was open later than 8 pm as most days we did not return before this time. Metro station was a convenient 5 minute drive away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights on our recent DC trip.
The decor of this hotel is modern and quite appealing.
The rooms were clean and fresh, spacious and well maintained.
The housekeeping staff was very accommodating and responsive to our needs.
Kitchen staff is all smiles and helpful. Front desk was also in good spirits.
Pool area is clean, breakfast is a full spread, don't miss the evening meals.

Few things to mention.
For the room rate of $140+ The mattress was old and too firm, sheets were just pure ordinary.
The studio bedroom doesn't get cooled well since the thermostat is in the main living room.
The bedroom remains warm but the living room was almost freezing.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel stay was very very nice. The location is close to all (Grocery stores, eateries, freeways and the Metro). The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well stocked. Ample free parking around the entire Hotel. The gated pool area is nice, there is a small pool and jacuzzi. the plus is there is a lifeguard on site. The free breakfast area is yummy! a lot of different foods to chose from (biscuits and gravy, waffles, bacon and eggs, oatmeal with all the fixings and even yogurt parfaits). The staff are very helpful, courteous, friendly and provide great customer service. The area is safe and well lighted.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are great, local grocery store only located 1.3 miles from Hotel (GIANT).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for around 30 days with my family. It was a good experience as I felt it was home. The staff and surrounding makes this hotel a good one, either for business, family or pleasure.
The price is excellent for what you are getting in terms of service and room space.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I was here for business and my meeting was right in the hotel so I didn't venture out at all. I had never stayed at a Residence Inn before and honestly had low expectations. This is a new property and it is very well designed. The sheets are not as nice as more upscale Marriott properties and while I had toiletries some of my colleagues did not. The public areas are particularly well done. The coffee is weak :( but the Internet is free :). It was a busy time due to graduations and the staff were definitely working at capacity but still very helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.