We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Morgan Hill, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“brand new gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The good: The best thing about this hotel is it is brand new. Super clean. Service is very friendly.
Access to the 66 is great. You can get many places easily and are within close distance to both Tysons Corner mall and Fair Oaks mall.
Free Internet.
Pool is small but nice and new.
Bad things: Breakfast buffet is the poorest one I have had at any Residence Inn. They ran out of bananas every single day. Really? Bananas? Pretty basic staple if you ask me.
Laundry is $2 per load - very expensive.

If they can get the breakfast kinks worked out, I would give it a better rating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
19
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This Residence Inn is well situated close to I-66, and it was well worth the $89 weekend rate we paid. Our king studio suite was spotless, very clean and well-equipped as is the standard with newer Residence Inns. The bed was very, very comfortable, not too firm as seems to be the case with new hotels these days. The bathroom and shower were well-designed, a huge walk-in shower, no tub. The kitchen was well laid out and had all the utensils we needed. Breakfast was as expected with the usual hot and cold items -- a very neat, high-tech breakfast area with TV nooks for individual groups to select a TV station, especially helpful for families wanting to avoid the news and other content not suitable for children! The only negative was that the hotel did not have enough staff during the overnight hours, so response times for requests were delayed (we waited an hour for a towel and never received a requested blanket). However, staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. All in all this is a great hotel for the Washington area, and you will be very close to Vienna-Faifax Metro station if you wish to avoid the terrible traffic going into DC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, DE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A lot of residence inns around the area only offer queen bed. We have a 2 year old and we need a king bed. I also requested a crib just in case.

The hotel is very nice and clean. We enjoyed it very much. Kitchen is nice, sofa bed can be pulled out. Big screen LCD TV. Free high speed internet and very nice breakfast. Bathroom is huge and very modern.

When we arrived at 9 pm, the room was already ready with a crib/playyard in it. It has a freshly laundered cover and a bathtime toy for us to keep (no tub though, hard to use it, I thought I saw shower/tub when I reserved the room, but I could be wrong).

We saw hotel staff constantly cleaning including scrubbing the elevator and the front/back door. I hope they keep up the good work. Did not try the pool, will try next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice brand new hotel with nice rooms with full kitchens. There's a nice small gym and pool. The breakfast is also good. Staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday recently. This is a new hotel and it was ultra nice and clean. The free breakfast buffet was extensive and excellent. The lobby and breakfast area were huge with many kinds of comfortable seating. The king size bed and sofa-bed were first-rate. I think it was the first time anyone had used the sofa-bed. We had a one bedroom room. It was well-decorated with plenty of room. Even the refrigerator was of much higher quality than one would normally find. The hotel is very conveniently located in the Fairfax area. We recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay here again. The outdoor swimming pool looked fantastic, also.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I arrived at this hotel on 30 May 2011 and departed on 7 June 2011. From the moment that I arrived I noticed that all the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. My bedroom was beautiful and was complete with a king size bed and a fully equipped kitchen. All aspects of this hotel were excellent and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny south
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I had a terminally ill parent and stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn, Spring Hill Suites and the Courtyard for 3 months respectively. After my parent passed this Residence Inn opened. We have stayed here 3 times while settling the estate.

It is wonderful. Like the Hilton Garden Inn, perfectly clean, front desk staff greets you by name. It is half the price per night of the Hilton Garden Inn with free breakfast. Both properties have the best staff in the county bar none.

Bathroom has walk in shower, dressing room and the kitchen has granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. Bed is extremely comfortable and the large flat screen TV is wonderful.

We will make this our new home base while visiting family in the Oakton area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.