We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one thing disappoints me.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Mantra

Curry Mantra
9984 Main Street, Fairfax, VA 22031
(703) 218-8128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 346 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chain bridge, Rt 50
Transit: Vienna Metro
Description: Experience our MANTRA (MAGIC) of making CURRIES. Enjoy Curries with Classic & Traditional decor. The Best of Fairfax.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only one thing disappoints me.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I love this restaurant. I really do. I've eaten here 4 times over the past 8 weeks, and every dish has been fantastic. I give kudos to the owner for the quick and deserved success of the business. The food is wonderful. The service is always far above average. The decor and atmosphere of the dining room makes one feel a bit closer to India--unless you are sitting in the front of the restaurant and have to have the beautiful interior design work ruined by the 20 plus awards on the wall. The restaurant is a success. The food is great. Anyone eating there already knows this. Not only is there no need to let the dining patrons know this, but it reduces the beauty of the dining room to a cheap, tacky trophy wall of newspaper clippings. Post them online, put them in the windows so that passersby can take note, or hang them in your home, but get those unnecessary atmosphere killers off the wall. When the 4th location is in the works after only 2-1/2 years after the first location opened it's doors, you know that it's a success. No need to wallpaper the restaurant with the clippings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    24
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfying but costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, but pricey. Also may want to keep in mind that it is on the small side, and may become loud or uncomfortable for large groups and/or groups with kids.
Authentic and spicy, quite an experience. Lots of options on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have eaten at Curry Mantra several times and the food is always terrific. The service and atmosphere can be lacking. For example, it is always crowded, but they cram everyone into the main dining room and do not open the second...at least when we visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent live music and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

They now have Indian live music on Fridays and Saturdays, awesome for setting the ambiance. The food is amazing - must try samosas and chicken tikka masala. The decor is beautiful in the new expanded part of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Surprise in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We happened to find this gem looking for something else, since we were hungry we decided to give it a try. There are a lot of Indian buffets in the area and they are usually good but this was exceptional. Everything was fresh and well seasoned. The goat was amazing as was the chicken masala. The staff were attentive and very friendly and the service was excellent. The iced tea was made with cardamom which was really good. We want to return for dinner and will soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Curry Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Mantra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.