We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Mantra

Curry Mantra
9984 Main Street, Fairfax, VA 22031
(703) 218-8128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 324 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chain bridge, Rt 50
Transit: Vienna Metro
Description: Experience our MANTRA (MAGIC) of making CURRIES. Enjoy Curries with Classic & Traditional decor. The Best of Fairfax.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Heard good reviews from foodies but never visited. Went to a birthday party dinner last Saturday with a party of 16. Very authentic looking and dress by staff. Service was good but not excellent, but they were busy at the time we were there. Prices were fair but was surprised they offered bread for the table and we later found it on the bill. Each ordered something different at my table and we shared. It was all good, but I did pass on the goat. Not being a fan of Indian food I don't know how it stacks up. but it is a nice diversion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Indian food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have all but stopped looking for another Indian restaurant to try because our entire family likes this one so much. The food is consistently good and they make you feel very welcome. The service can be a little off at times, but all in all it's a great place to eat and you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cold , hard to enjoy when you are cold.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The food is good, not great. The lighting a little too bright, the temperature too low. The prices are $2-4 higher than other Indian restaurants for each entree. I think the Jaipur, also in Fairfax, is much better.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food at Curry Mantra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lunch buffet was great as well as going there for evening dinner. Nice variety of dishes and very good service. They do have a carryout menu. Each dish was tasteful and seasoned to perfection.
Dinner is available from 5:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M. If you have never had Indian style food it is delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant... Delicious food, nice ambiance, affordable and awesome friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I strongly suggest to check in using Yelp to get 10% discount on your diner (dine in only...).

I was not sure about this restaurant by looking at the outside but when you get in, you get into their charm...

Great vegetarian options and very friendly service... Very calm and soothing ambiance... Dimmed light... Very well decorated...

Food is very good, spicy as you request and very tasty...

Delicious chai tea as well...

A must and very affordable too ;-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Curry Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Mantra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.