We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boxwoods at The Mason Inn - CLOSED

Boxwoods at The Mason Inn
4352 Mason Pond Drive, on George Mason Fairfax Campus, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-865-4638
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 123 and Braddock (on GMU Campus)
Transit: Take the Orange Line to the Vienna Stop. Transfer to the "Mason to Metro Shuttle" which will drop you right at our doorstep.
Description: Boxwoods is a full-service restaurant in Fairfax serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Chef’s innovative menu includes regional and American favorites prepared with the freshest ingredients. In addition to an a la carte menu there is also a buffet selection available. Our Chef partners with area farms and vineyards to provide healthy and delicious choices.Sunday Brunch is BACK at Boxwoods! Enjoy a feast for the whole family from 11am - 2pm each Sunday. You will enjoy the Waffle Station, Omelet Station, Assorted Pies and Mousses, and, of course, your favorite beverage. Let the good times roll at Boxwoods Sunday Brunch. Adults are only $21.00, Children 6-12 are $15 and Children 5 and Under are FREE. Come on……eat us out of “house and home”. Make the CHEF and General Manager run to buy more food! It’s only a PARTY if you attend and it happens at Boxwoods each week.
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

wonderful breakfast buffet that rivals any high-end restaurant! staff is attentive and quality of food that can be ordered from the menu or buffet-style is superb for the value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The quality of the food and the selections were impressive. Traveling as a group often means overcooked, preselected items. We were able to select from the menu and our food arrived in a timely manner and was the perfect temperature. The dining manager as well as the wait staff were fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Ivy, Ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Shared breakfast (the breakfast sandwich) in order to save a little money during our weekend trip. They graciously split the order and brought it on two plates, well presented, as if we had ordered the most expensive thing on the menu. The meal was absolutely delicious and we wish we didn't live 5 hours away! The waitress was very pleasant and the ambiance very soothing. Even if you do not stay at the hotel, I recommend trying this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For a business lunch, at least it is quiet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I scheduled a business lunch at Boxwoods based on a good experience at a banquet dinner at the Mason Inn complex. The setting for lunch was nice, in the pleasantly lit, quiet dining room of Boxwoods. But the food is not anything more than adequate. The service is even less than adequate. Our waitress strongly pushed the lunch buffet, so we went to look at it and saw an assortment of steam table dishes that were not appealing in any way except their quantity. We opted to order off the menu. Our food was eventually served by a different person, then our waitress showed up immediately to ask how everything was. How would we know? We hadn't had a chance to taste it yet. Clearing the plates and serving the coffee were also challenging for the staff, apparently. This goes for the front desk, as well--having made a reservation through Open Table, I was surprised when after the lunch I got an email from Open Table saying the restaurant reported I had canceled. I can't say that I plan to return any time soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Mason Inn while in town for a couple of days & within this hotel was a wonderful surprise! Since we were hungry when we checked in, we decided to try Boxwoods. It started out as a pleasant experience as everyone in and around the restaurant was very accommodating & friendly. They were having a buffet lunch when we arrived which my husband was excited about, but I am not the "buffet type" at all; however, the price of $15.00 would have equalled to a regular lunch off the menu so I decided to try it. Wow! Everything was so fresh -- nothing like one might expect from your standard buffet lunch. The vegetables were crisp & deliciously seasoned -- all the choices were a cut above, including some of the best pesto I've ever tasted! The fruit was sweet and juicy -- the choice of breads were amazing. The desserts were out of this world. In a nutshell, you will really enjoy this restaurant if you're ever in the area. Look for "Amy" -- an exceptional waitress/hostess who works there. She remembered us when we returned for breakfast, was extremely caring to our every need & made us feel very welcome. We will stay at the Mason Inn everytime we're in town mainly because of Boxwoods -- can't wait to come back for the buffet!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boxwoods at The Mason Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boxwoods at The Mason Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.