We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Bistro

Bollywood Bistro
3955 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-3322
703-273-0031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 346 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of eating here at the end of January. I actually passed this place when eating at another restaurant that is in the same shopping center. I decided that I was going to head back the following night. I arrived around 5:30 and got a seat at the bar. I started the meal off with a Maharaja IPA and bowl of the Pigeon Peas Soup. The soup was very good and was well seasoned. For my entree I ordered the Shank Vindaloo. The lamb shank was absolutely amazing. The spiciness and flavor were spot on. The potatoes were perfectly cooked. Very rarely does a dish look like it does in a photo on a website, but this one was spot on. It was served with rice. Excellent main course. I finished the meal with the Warm Carrot Halwa. Although tasty, I was not blown away by the dish. It was a little too chunky and thick for my taste. This will be a repeat on the places to hit when staying in Fairfax. Check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Indian--and I can get something good there too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My men love their Indian food. I can't abide cilantro and hot food is not for me. There is always a dish they can adjust for me that is delish. This place is a household favorite and only ten minutes away. No problem parking, as the garage is steps for the Bollywood Bistro entrance. The wine list is also decent, and the waitstaff are very polite and accomodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went here with my husband's family (who are all Indian), before we were married. It's a good place with good food. The atmosphere is nice and it's in a great location. They have a lovely lunch buffet everyday of the week that is something like $11. It's worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great food, fun atmosphere, good location, ample garage parking. Make a reservation on Fri/Sat nights. The Kesari Chicken Tikka is my favorite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have eaten here for the lunch buffet as well as dinner and both are excellent. The service is great and the quality of the food is excellent. The prices are very reasonable. It is not your typical Indian restaurant, very elegant and the food is amazingly good. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for great food, not just Indian food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.