We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mazadar Kabob

Mazadar Kabob
11725 Lee Hwy Suite A15A, Fairfax, VA
(571) 432-0202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 326 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday around 5:30 pm and had the place to ourselves. Very nicely done decor and attentive friendly wait staff. We had an appetizer, lamb & chicken kabobs and another less memorable entree. Overall, found the offerings tasty, but the portion sizes seemed small. Ended up filling up on the delicious hot flat bread. For 3, my bill was just over $50 with the tip.

Nice place, but I'm not sure I'd pay the premium to dine here over going to Moby Dick's for less $$'s.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I love technology. I do. Without it, I doubt I'd have found this amazing restaurant.

I had the chicken samosa and the lamb biryani and perfection is the game here. Succulent lamb on the bone was sublime. A perfect spicy blend but the very nice gentleman (Qader) brought out some spicy sauce just in case I wanted it much hotter.

Delicious and pleasant experience in a neat restaurant with beautiful tiled floors and furniture to boot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We celebrated a friend's birthday 4 of us) here in June and had a wonderful dining experience. We loved the warm fresh flatbread, generous portions. The sampler for dipping was wonderful, tasty and fresh. We each enjoyed our entrees of kebobs or salmon.

The ambiance with tiled floors, cushioned seating, peach, sea foam, and gold fabric,s and an exquisite fountain in the center of the restaurant was refreshing and very calming. The owner visited us several times with warm friendliness. We ate earlier than most diners, at 7:00. A diverse group of diners trickled in from 8-10 pm. I recommend this restaurant enthusiastically.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding Middle Eastern Food, Service & Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant with family & friends. As there were five of us we ordered several dishes and ate "family style." The starter sampler for hummus, Baba Gahannouge, MK Maust and Eggplant dip was outstanding. Unlike other members of my family, I am not an eggplant fan. However, the eggplant was delicious and so were the other items. We had chicken and beef kabob and shrimp qurma, mantu, basmati and two other rice dishes. All were very tasty. In addition, we tried the carrot desert with Persian ice cream. It was very good! Much mention the bread, which was extremely tasty. I like pita bread, but the Mazadar's bread was simply several cuts above the pita bread one usually gets in Middle Eastern restaurants. We also liked the atmosphere and decor. The fountain in the center is a very nice touch. The service was excellent and one of the owners came by to check and ensure we were enjoying our meal. Can highly recommend this restaurant and do plan to returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to have dinner with two of our adult children. Having been to Mazadar once before, my wife and I thought that they would enjoy a different experience. The ambience of the restaurant is very Persian with pillowed couches, tiled floors and a fountain in the center of the dining room. While the others had kabobs or lamb dishes, I ventured in having Mantu, homemade dumplings filled with ground beef and onion topped with meat sauce, yogurt and mint. Mantu was a cross between dim sum and ravioli. The flavors were very different but excellent. I would suggest that Mazadar add an appetizer portion of MAntu so that more customers could try this excellent dish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazadar Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Mazadar Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazadar Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.