We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a strip mall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazadar Kabob

Mazadar Kabob
11725 Lee Hwy Suite A15A, Fairfax, VA
(571) 432-0202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An oasis in a strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Subdued lighting, the trickle of a restaurant water fountain, superior service, along warm baked bread, fresh spices and decent sized portions, Mazadar Kabob was a relaxing delight. We tried the Bolanee Kachaloo, which was like a bread based pirogi made with fresh spices and came with two dipping sauces and I had the vegetarian delight. It was exactly what I had hoped for, a healthy selection of spinach, eggplant and butternut squash dishes and seasoned rice. It can also be made vegan, for those who eat vegan. Everything was clean and fashionably presented from the tables to the plates to the sink in the bathroom (red glass). It was a good value and a treat for a date night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    58
    21
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We tried Mazadar based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The food was delicious...from the hummus to the baklava..we will definitely visit again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, all halal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited with two friends from Morocco and we all enjoyed the meal and restaurant very much. This is the real deal, a nice setting and very good food. Also friendly service with a smile. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A night in Dubai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I selected this restaurant because of TA reviews and its location to a relative's house where we had spent the afternoon. We weren't disappointed. Having experienced several trips to Afghanistan and other areas in the region, my dh says the restaurant most reminds him of upscale establishments in Dubai. He says even the restroom was reminiscent of Dubai and Afghanistan with the "washing up" jug of water in the men's room.

We arrived at 6PM on a Saturday night, without a reservation, and were greeted formally. Our first impression was "Wow! What atmosphere!" White raised-patterned walls that look like lilies, set off by black and white chairs and napkins create a clean and modern vibe. The main attraction, a water fountain in the middle of the room, was encased in a gorgeous blue-mosaic tiled square pool. The flooring has also been created with thoughtfulness- stunning blocks of black and white mosaic tiles arranged throughout the space. The only glaring intrusion was a staple of Mid-East restaurants- a TV screen (in this case, huge) set to CNN-close captioning the news (one headline "10 officers killed in Afghanistan").

Our waiter greeted us formally and asked our seating preference; we chose a table next to the fountain. We ordered a bottle of BV Napa Valley cabernet sauvignon from the wine list (bargain to moderately priced wine selections) and started with the four piece sampler, which uncluded a large slice of Nan bread, hummas, and a yogurt/cucumber dip. Delicious and very fresh ingredients.DH had the surf and turf (a bit pricey at $25.99) and I chose the lamb kebob plate ($14.99) that came with Basmati rice. We shared sauteed spinach ($3.99). My lamb was cooked too well done to my liking and the rice was on the dry side, but dh's mixed fare suited him just fine. The spinach was very tasty. We ended by sharing a carrot and pistachio type cobbler and baklava- the carrot specialty being especially delightful.

I could have stopped at the sampler starter and may do just that next time- and there will be one! Except for the TV- Wonderful atmosphere and overall- mostly moderate prices and some good food. The full restaurant an hour after we arrived, and the Middle Eastern families who frequent the place, illustrate the restaurant's appeal and authenticity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Eh, It Was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went here expecting,perhaps, too much based on the reviews. The atmosphere was very nice, the service was very good, but the food wasn't anything particularly special. I don't understand the raves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mazadar Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazadar Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.