We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Power” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TheMasonInnVa.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Power”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ok, we went back for another visit. Upon arriving, the hotel had no power & was told it should be back later in the evening. The staff were extremely apologetic, and got us a room at another hotel. I appreciate this effort. However, why couldn't someone have called/emailed us to let us know ahead of our arrival? According to the staff, this has happened pretty frequently. We were extremely happy with the hotel they sent us to, we will probably stay there again. Just thought others should know.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
35
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As a frequent visitor to the Washington, DC area for business I have stayed in The Mason Inn as often as it is available. The hotel is well appointed, clean, and extremely well maintained. And the food is never disappointing. The chef is one of the best. Oh by way, my wife loves the hotel as well. Most importantly, staff members are always friendly and helpful. This hotel is definitely one of the hotel industry's best kept secrets. John H

Room Tip: I love corner suites with the king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi JohnHo223.

I appreciate the comments about us being the best hotel in Northern Virginina. The staff are always greatful to hear such wonderful compliments.

We are kind of fond of Chef Joseph too and he was just thrilled to be named "one of the best" by you.

Thanks again and I hope to see you again soon.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tom, Wes, and a most wonderful waitress whose name escapes me made a birthday celebration for my husband and me on the 28th of July the best possible. They led us to the small dining room space for the group of guest we had and saw to it the entire time that we had privacy and outstanding service. The choice of breakfast, lunch or both was perfect with the food rating a 5. Those guests who had arrived the night before told us their rooms were clean and comfortable. One guest said "I brought my Lysol wipes and didn't need to use them". We plan on staying in one of the rooms soon just to confirm that. Thank you to management and staff for making this birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Greetings Jean D.

How exciting that we were able to play a part in your birthday celebration. And to hear such great things about our staff is a truly wonderful thing.

Thank you for celebrating with us and for sharing your review and those of your guests with us.

Many happy returns.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I always love my stay at the Mason Inn. Rooms are very nicely appointed, staff very friendly but professional, the entire hotel is very clean, guests can swim in the University Pool [this is real pool not the oversized bathtubs in most every hotel]. Dining area is first class and reasonably priced. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Best in Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Tom B.

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again real soon.

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Mason In for our daughter's Master's graduation and had a wonderful time. The room was large and very comfortable, the staff was engaging and helpful, and the location was outstanding. We were extremely pleased and will definitely stay there again. Two other couples traveled with us and enjoyed their stay at the Mason Inn as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings MaryMAustin.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us for your daughters graduation. It is always a pleasure to play host to families during their times of joy.

Hope to see you again soon!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

It still looks brand new and very well maintained. The rooms are decent sized, we got a 2 bed room, has a coffee maker, no fridge, no microwave. No pool on the hotel grounds, its across the street and it owned by the University I believe. The interior of the rooms and the hotel lobby are both in very good condition, almost brand new. Parking is on the lower level of the hotel, you can park inside or outside. Indoor parking is limited to 1 level and some are reserved for fuel efficient vehicles. Plenty of outdoor parking space. There is a shuttle that brings you to the Vienna Metro(Orange train) every 30mins states the front desk. We waited almost an hour for it and it makes about 6 more stops before reaching the metro station and then once on the train its another 25mins to reach the Smithsonian stop. On the way back we waited for this shuttle but once it came, it signalled it will turn around but never did. We ended up taking a cab ride to the hotel after waiting another 22mins for that shuttle to "turn around". The driver saw us with 2kids in tow and he never stopped! Anyway the cab ride was around $17+$3 tip. Cab driver made several unnecessary turns around GMUniversity. 2nd day we decided to just drive there and it was a 16min drive(I missed the exit) and parked at the parking deck at the metro. Come early because it took us a bit of luck and 20mins to find a parking spot to open up. This was around 12noon. Parking fee is $4.75 per day. I used my credit card to pay and you pay on the way out.
This was our first trip to DC that we stayed far from downtown DC because it cost almost $300 to stay in downtown DC because of some big convention happening that week. Overall it was an interesting experience but cost of metro/parking/cab ride/inconvenience and time delays from the shuttle, I would not do this again. The hotel itself is awesome, conveniently close to some food places but not convenient enough when you bring the little ones.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Evebert B.

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. I appreciate the candid feedback that you provided for us. Feedback from our guests is a powerful tool that allows us to continually improve upon our services and amenities.

I have forwarded your concerns regarding the shuttle service, which is provided by George Mason University, to Transportation Services and we are arranging some time to discuss how to alleviate these issues in the future.

Thank you for sharing and I hope to see you again.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at The Mason Inn for the second time in 3 months. We consistently find it to be a great experience. Rooms are large and a good value for the area. Staff is always very courteous and helpful. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello tbh421.

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list