We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will miss staying thee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We will miss staying thee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our son graduated two weeks ago from George Mason University which allowed us to stay at the Mason Inn several times for its convenience. Not only is it an ideal location but the rooms are very nice, the staff helpful and accommodating and the dining room fare is excellent. There is also very convenient underground parking with walk-in accessibility to the hotel elevators. This feature may often go overlooked but it is so nice to have. I'm just sad that we will no longer have any reason to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Helen K.

Congratulations to you and your graduate! Graduation is a difficult time for us here on campus as we have gotten to know our Mason families over the last couple of years. But as they say the show must go on.

Thank you for staying with us over the last few years and for the review that your shared with TripAdvisor.

I do hope that we will see you and your graduate again in the future.

Go Mason!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
35
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here first to attend a reception where our friend was honored. However, the Inn proved to be well located for our visit to the area. A free shuttle service comes by every half hour which has a stop at the Vienna Orange Line Metro station which routes to all the DC attractions, about an hour's train ride away. This we discovered after we arrived. Front desk staff were very helpful...

Our room was nice - clean and well appointed - In rooms and throughout hotel WiFi is available for free for guests. We found everything to be quite good - when the weather changed from hot to cold, the staff helped with switching the system that was stubborn when we tried. They were immediate in their response! All in all a good visit here - we recommend it for good value all around...

Green Features: The facility is Leed Gold Certified and a Green Leaders Silver. This means that they have processes and practices that support environment friendly standards, recycling and energy efficiency.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi West_Tx_54.

Thank you for the glowing review of The Mason Inn that you sent to TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to host our guests and I am so glad that we suited your needs.

I am especially grateful for the recommendation that you gave us.

Thanks again!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have family in Springfield, VA and this location was perfect 15 minute drive away. Much nicer than typical chain hotels where we've stayed in the past. Staff was helpful and professional. Even though we were unaware of a special Mother's Day Brunch that was fully booked, they made room for 7 unexpected guests! We asked for a room in a quiet corner (#5020) and that's what we got. Lovely room with comfort mattress and linens. Would have been perfection with addition of a refrigerator to accommodate drinks, snacks and meds we needed for traveling. Additionally, the hotel has some covered parking, which was perfect as it rained for two days!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Greetings SBD1969.

Mother's Day is an especially special time for everyone and we are so glad that we were able to get you and your party in!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for the feedback that you've provided on TripAdvisor.

I hope to see you again soon!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Mason Inn, located on the campus of George Mason University in Fairfax VA, was a recent conference stay. A very clean and bright property with very good service. The Inn is approx a 30 min shuttle ride from Vienna Metro stop (end of the Orange Live) and the shuttle operates every 30 min. I didn't wait more than 10 minutes in either direction for the shuttle and the service was very good. Food (it was a conference, so more more toward buffet-type) was good, to very good. No complaints. In-room WiFi was FREE. Easy to log on. My room rate was good to very good based on several Washington D.C. trips and comparative rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello TanglewoodNH.

It was a pleasure to host you and your group a few weeks back and I appreciate the feedback that you provided to us on TripAdvisor.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to see you and your group again!

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my four nights at GMU's Mason Inn. It is clean, well-appointed, big enough that it never seemed crowded, even with lots of people around. House keeping did a seamless job maintaining their high standards over a weekend of different staff. The room, with two queen beds, was more than large enough, and the bathroom was substantial.

Though there was a chair to relax in or sit and read, but there was no good space to put it. It was shoved between the bed and the window like an after thought. Other than that (which is not much at all), it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Jason R

I am so glad that you "thoroughly enjoyed" your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you as our guest and we look forward to many more opportunities to serve you.

Thank you for your comments about our housekeeping service. The folks who maintain our building and rooms are some of the hardest working folks we have and they are always so grateful to hear that their hard work is making a difference to our guests.

Thanks again and I hope to see you again!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time at the Mason Inn - three nights in late April. The staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. My room was large, comfortable and well-appointed (iHome clock great for night charging of my iPhone :). And quiet (nice corner room- 5019). Housekeeping excellent. Was there for professional reasons and so I can say the conference rooms were fine. Boxwoods restaurant was great for the breakfast buffet (great selection and wonderful fresh fruit) and the Well (bar) was nice and served the restaurant's menu after it closed. Great free shuttle service to/from the Vienna metro station. Lemon water and apples always available in the lobby are a nice touch. I understand from a colleague that the hotel will provide you with a guest pass for the University gym.

Room Tip: I had a corner room on an upper floor- 5019. Quiet, roomy, nice King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings knight_w_o_armor

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It is my expectation that we provide all of our guests with superior accomodations and service while they are with us and knowing that we accomplished that for you and your group is outstanding.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and love it, but both times I was given a large corner room with a very noisy fan. Next year I have to remember to ask for another room. I eat at the bar, the food was delicious and he service great.

Room Tip: Make sure no noisy fans in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello H2marcia.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit. I have passed the information regarding the noisy fan on to our Chief Engineer and he will be looking into and solving the problem so that you can enjoy those spacious corner rooms without having to worry about the noise from the air handler.

Thanks again and see you soon!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.