We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right at GMU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel right at GMU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my four nights at GMU's Mason Inn. It is clean, well-appointed, big enough that it never seemed crowded, even with lots of people around. House keeping did a seamless job maintaining their high standards over a weekend of different staff. The room, with two queen beds, was more than large enough, and the bathroom was substantial.

Though there was a chair to relax in or sit and read, but there was no good space to put it. It was shoved between the bed and the window like an after thought. Other than that (which is not much at all), it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Jason R

I am so glad that you "thoroughly enjoyed" your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you as our guest and we look forward to many more opportunities to serve you.

Thank you for your comments about our housekeeping service. The folks who maintain our building and rooms are some of the hardest working folks we have and they are always so grateful to hear that their hard work is making a difference to our guests.

Thanks again and I hope to see you again!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
35
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time at the Mason Inn - three nights in late April. The staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. My room was large, comfortable and well-appointed (iHome clock great for night charging of my iPhone :). And quiet (nice corner room- 5019). Housekeeping excellent. Was there for professional reasons and so I can say the conference rooms were fine. Boxwoods restaurant was great for the breakfast buffet (great selection and wonderful fresh fruit) and the Well (bar) was nice and served the restaurant's menu after it closed. Great free shuttle service to/from the Vienna metro station. Lemon water and apples always available in the lobby are a nice touch. I understand from a colleague that the hotel will provide you with a guest pass for the University gym.

Room Tip: I had a corner room on an upper floor- 5019. Quiet, roomy, nice King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings knight_w_o_armor

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It is my expectation that we provide all of our guests with superior accomodations and service while they are with us and knowing that we accomplished that for you and your group is outstanding.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and love it, but both times I was given a large corner room with a very noisy fan. Next year I have to remember to ask for another room. I eat at the bar, the food was delicious and he service great.

Room Tip: Make sure no noisy fans in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello H2marcia.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit. I have passed the information regarding the noisy fan on to our Chief Engineer and he will be looking into and solving the problem so that you can enjoy those spacious corner rooms without having to worry about the noise from the air handler.

Thanks again and see you soon!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Mason Inn for 3 nights in April 2013. Our son had a graduate student recital at George Mason University. The room was huge and immaculate all 3 days. "The Well" lounge had good, but pricey drinks. The food, not so good. Had wings twice and were not thrilled either time. We had a light breakfast one morning, but chose to go out the other 2. The shuttle from the inn to the metro is awesome!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little more, but HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good Day Fab50Mom.

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. The Metro Shuttle is by far the most efficient way to get in and out of Washington from us and we are so glad that you found it to be awesome.

I have passed your comments regarding our food service to our Director of Food and Beverage and hope to have some enhancements to our menu before the next time you come to see us.

Thanks again and I hope to host you again soon!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My first time staying at the Mason Inn to attend George Mason Open House with my daughter. The front desk check in was simple, room was clean, bed comfy, nice stay and conveniently located across from the college. I only wish they had a mini fridge in the room. Other than that it was great, I will be staying there everytime I come visit my daughter when she attends this Fall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Cynthia T!

I am so excited that you found us and that you had a great experience. We are excited for the opportunity to host you over the next few years with your daughter attending Mason. Have you joined our Mason Parents Rewards Club? Lots of exciting discounts and specials for events on and around campus.

Hope to see you again soon. Go Mason!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The Mason Inn is a terrific hotel and conference center on the George Mason University campus. We were in town for a concert, and booked a room due to the Inn's proximity to the arena. Super convenient - the Patriot Center is a five minute walk from the hotel - nice room, friendly staff, very satisfied. It was exactly what we were looking for in Fairfax. Thanks so much for your hospitality!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello rdooz.

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing you review of The Mason Inn on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to host you as our guest while you were in town at the Patriot Center and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was IMMACULATE. We enjoyed parking in the covered garage, elevator took us straight up to our room. Our double bed room was nicely decorated, beds & bedding clean & comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, clean towels, plenty of counter space, towel racks - A+ to housekeeping!!! Nice tray filled with coffee, tea to make in a small Cuisinart coffee/tea maker.

We were not familiar with the local restaurants & shopping. It would be so helpful if the hotel could add some information in its guest book about the town, and where to find places to eat (chain or locally owned restaurants) & shop. We did several loops around the area before finding a free public parking garage & a place to eat. Also, Front Desk staff could make more of an effort (at check in) to get to know their guests - and if they need directions to places.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Greetings S M.

Immaculate, nicely decorated, clean, comfortable, spotless, space, nice; thank you for sharing these words regarding our housekeeping. They truly appreciate receiving positive feedback that is a direct result of their hard work. And I appreciate you taking the time to share them with me.

I am however dismayed with the service you did not receive from the Front Desk. It is certainly my expectation that we know our guests and anticipate their needs to be able to exceed their expectations and I can assure you that this information will serve only to improve upon the quality of our service the we provide.

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.