We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at the Mason Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
“Another Great Stay at the Mason Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have a son who attends George Mason and we find this hotel very convenient when visiting him. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are quite comfy.The staff is always pleasant and courteous and parking accessibility very easy. I would highly recommend this hotel you can not go wrong. Already booked for Graduation!

Room Tip: The view overlooking the campus is a plus at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello ShoreGirl99.

We are getting ready just like you for graduation! It will surely be an exciting time for all.

Thank you for your continued patronage over the last few years and hopefully we will be able to maintain that relationship for many more to come.

Thanks again.

Go Mason!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
35
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to stay when we visit son @ GMU. Staff are pleasant and professional usually students. The rooms have always been clean, beds are comfortable. The food is good and the location is convenient for visitors of the University

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi DDarling2.

Just a quick note of appreciation for the opportunity to host you as our guest and a huge thank you for your comments regarding your stay!

I hope to see you again!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughter and I are doing college visits, staying in numerous hotels. At this point we are making comparisons. When it comes to the Mason Inn it is top on the list.
After a long journey, you want a comfortable, up to date room. Mason Inn rooms are clean, decorated well and up to date.
The carpets are fresh, the decor lovely. For us the beds were very comfortable. The curtains shut and block out light just right.

Staff was so very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delightful.
I felt refreshed and happy there.

You can not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Deborah G.

I always get excited when I see parent bringing their children to George Mason University for college visits. It makes me proud to be a small part of such a monumental decision and I hope that you and your daughter will choose to come to Mason so that we can build on that relationship with your family!

Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us and for sharing your experiences with TripAdvisor.

Go Mason!

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Once again, had a great stay at the Mason Inn Conference Center! Had a mild issue at check in that was quickly and courteously resolved by the staff. Boxwoods was delicious, if a bit pricey.
My one issue with the hotel continues to be the beds. First of all, they just, for lack of a better term, feel wrong, whether it's the mattress or the unusual box-spring, I'm not sure. Second of all they don't seem to really have a bottom sheet, the fitted sheet that looked like was really scratchy, so I slept on the unfitted sheet. Additionally, the hotel could use better soundproofing as the room next door could be clearly heard through the wall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello sglbgg!

Thank you for your continued patronage of The Mason Inn and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! It is with feedback from guests just like yourself that we are able to continually able to make improvements to the product and service that we offer.

With that being said I am glad to hear about us being able to resolve the issue at check in that you experienced and have taken your comments about our mattresses back to our housekeeping team to find a solution to your concerns. I am excited to be able to tell you that we have recently started the process of replacing the fitted sheets for our bedding and am currently working with our vendors to eliminate the "scartchy" issue that we have noticed with our sheets and will have this project completed in just a few short weeks.

Thanks again for staying and for sharing with us!

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were comfortable and really appreciated how clean and beautiful the hotel was. Our only complaint was the service staff's odd response when we requested an additional glass for water. The staff claimed that no extra glass existed and responded with confusion about our request rather than immediate desire to rectify the situation. That rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Vince E.

I wanted to take some time to thank you for staying with us. I know that you have many options when looking for hotels and truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you.

I am a little perplexed by your comments regarding the water glass for your room and have taken action to ensure that this breakdown in communication does not happen again.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to Fairfax you will come to see us again!

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is truely a great hotel. We drove from WV up for a Mumford and Sons concert on VDay and figured this was the closest. In fact it was so close to the Patriot center we just walked over. YaY no crazy concert traffic!!! The only complaint is that the morning we were leaving I got thevstomache flu so we decided on room service instead of humiliating myself at a restaurant. Well it took about and hour and a half to get to the room. It looked good enough but we didnt get to eat it because we were in such a hurry to grt home. Another bad thing is they never offered a discount or ahnything for the slow service and I am pretty sure they actually just forgot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello BattyEyes.

Thank you for staying with us for your Valentines Day concert with Mumford and Sons. We truly appreciated and enjoyed hosting you and all of the concert attendees! With such a great proximity to the Patriot Center we cannot see why someone would choose to stay anywhere else.

I do hope that you are feeling better than you did when you checked out of the hotel.

And I would like to apologize for the trouble that you experienced with your in room dining. If you could contact me at the hotel I would be happy to look into the matter further and find out a cause and offer a resolution. You can reach me at Christopher.Sollars@TheMasonInnVA.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler, have stayed at a lot of hotels, and I'll go on the record saying The Mason Inn is in my top 5 of great hotels I’ve stayed at (Graves 601 Hotel in Minneapolis, MN is my #1)! Whether you're in town on company business or for leisure travel, The Mason Inn suits both type of travelers.

My wife and I stayed at The Mason Inn in January 2013 and paid $278 for our 2-night stay. We looked downtown and just didn't want to pay the price for a downtown hotel. With The Mason Inn, we got a hotel that was (A) in a safe area, (B) reasonably priced, (C) near public transportation, (D) a newer hotel property (E) and the room was very nice and clean. The building itself (inside and out) is very modern (or “swanky” as my wife would say). The service was great too.

On one of the mornings, my wife and I got up early to take the first hotel shuttle that would take us to the Metro. Right when we were about to leave, we got a letter underneath our door that said the shuttle was going to run 2-3 hours later than expected. In the letter, the hotel manager also apologized for the inconvenience and offered complimentary breakfast. We were in a hurry and couldn't wait (couldn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast either), so we drove our rental car from the hotel to the Metro. When we got back to the hotel later that evening, I called the restaurant and explained that we missed the offer on complimentary breakfast and wanted to know if we could get dinner complimentary instead. The restaurant manager was very accommodating and said yes. It never hurts to ask right!?

Overall, our stay was great and my wife and I didn't have any complaints about The Mason Inn. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Front Office Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Thomas B.

What a weekend the 2013 Presidential Inauguration was!

Thank you for choosing to spend it with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and everyone that was here for this big event. I appreciate your understanding with regard to the Metro Shuttle. It was something that seemed to just creep up on us and in the end we were able to secure the transportation for our guests early in the morning but I am glad that you were able to make use of our offer in Boxwood Restaurant.

I appreciate your comments, your staying with us and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

Regards.

Christopher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.