We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com TheMasonInnVa.com
and 8 more sites!
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a good stay here. It is simple and clean. No pool yet, but it is still new I think. Staff was very friendly. There was some kind of party going on in the next room and we couldn't sleep and had to wake up early the next day, so we called front desk and immediately the problem was taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Paradisekiss -

We appreciate the Very Good rating that you awarded us, we do apologize for the noise from our celebratory guests, glad to hear that our staff was able to quite them down so that you could resume your sleep. For future reference while we do not have a pool on property we do offer complimentary passes to the Aquatic Center on campus just a short distance from the property - it has multiple pools and a large whirlpool, along with additional workout machines.
We look foward to your return in the near future, until then we hope all your travels are relaxing and safe.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
35
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Ivy, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Last summer we decided to visit George Mason as a potential college and their site recommended this hotel.(it's walking distance to school, very convenient). I called the hotel two times for information, expressing that I planned to visit DC. but did not want to drive to or in DC. I was assured both times there was a shuttle to the metro. Both times the clerks knew my check in and check out dates. When we arrived, I AGAIN expressed to the person on duty that I cannot drive in DC, and was AGAIN reassured there was a shuttle. Friday went fine, we were pleased with the hotel and the low cost. Saturday morning we asked a question at the desk, and she could not have possibly missed us saying, how we were about to take the shuttle as we had just finished breakfast and we felt we were right on time. As we sat out in the sun for 45 minutes, we finally realized a shuttle would not be forthcoming. When we came back in, we were told the shuttle does not run on the weekends and they are not responsible for the George Mason schedule. I asked to speak to the hotel manager, the name on the card is Tina Volin. She offered to call us a cab at our own expense to the metro. My thought was that the hotel should have offered to pay for that, or at least comp breakfast, as I certainly had done everything I could possibly do to make sure once I was there I wouldn't have to drive (night blindness in a strange area-not good) So, just want future guests of the hotel to take note of this experience. The metro is not too far of a drive, and I think it was about $4.00 to get out of the lot, but I was worried all day about how long the lot may be open as I couldn't find any information, and we cut our DC day short. Also, if you need help, inquire what hours the concierge is available, because they are not always there (much like the shuttle!) Also, petty point, but they kept getting my name wrong on the reservation confirmation, and never got it right after I contacted them and they would reply with it as corrected, and STILL had it wrong, several times. That was a heads up on staff training that I chose to ignore based on the proximity to the school, and cost, and it proved to be a trend that caused me quite a bit of aggravation. I'm not in the habit of writing negative reviews, so I will end with saying if you are fine with getting to DC in any fashion, the hotel is beautifully appointed, safe and the staff was friendly, although seemingly misinformed (and no, the television did NOT know our name, it however did continue to name the person who must have had the room prior to us)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear NewportNewbie -

We greatly appreciate the feedback from your trip last summer. Since then we have address the reservation and television techincal issues so that the proper name is listed on the screens. As for the campus shuttle schedule we have made sure that upon check in that our staff is properly trained and providing our guests with the availability of the shuttle to and from the metro on the weekends verses the weekdays. As you stated we have a beautifully appointed, safe property with professional and friendly staff. We look forward to your return in the near future and hope that all your travels are safe and relaxing.

Hospitably,

Sean Flynn - Director of Sales & Marketing
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Mason Inn for the second time during our visit to see family in the area. We enjoyed the quiet location and fresh, modern feeling of the hotel which is directly located on the George Mason campus. The staff is polite and the facility is well maintained and eco-friendly. Our rate for our stay was exceptional. Staying here, you will get far more than your money's worth! My only complaint for our stay was that we found an ALEVE tablet on the floor of our room. If we had been traveling with small children, that could have been very dangerous. It also makes me question just how well our room was really cleaned if that was missed. Other than that, a stay at the Mason Inn will leave you well rested and happy! We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Hatterpride -

We are delighted we were able to host you and your family on your recent journey back to the Fairfax area and we appreciate the wonderful review that you provided. I have shared your housekeeping concern with our Director of Housekeeping and she will certainly address them with her associates and review with our supervisors on their final inspections checklists. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance, we look forward to your return in the near future. We hope that all your travels are safe and relaxing.

Hospitably,

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Friendly staff, helpful with dining suggestions. Clean rooms. A little out of the way for doing things in Washington or Alexandria, but not too bad. Not sure what the extra charge on my credit card is for. Thought wifi was complimentary, only thing I can think of.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Pamd826,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Mason Inn and want to thank you for providing us with a very good rating. We will make sure to pass along your feedback to our staff. If you still have question about your final invoice please feel free to contact the front desk or call me directly to see if we can review your folio. We look forward to your return in the near future, thank you again for your review. We hope all your travels are safe and relaxing.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
(703) 865-4532
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is state of the art, and right on campus!!!

NO complaints here at all as far as amenities.

Plenty of parking available as well.

I was there for a basketball game and its literally right around the corner from the Patriot Center.

My only issue was the restaurant. I got some yogurt, just regular yogurt, and i tried it out and it was sour! I've never had regular yogurt so I can't say if this taste is normal but once I examined it some more the yogurts date had be expired for over 2 weeks.

I did let the hostess no, but I hope no one else got sick from that. Thank God I didn't get sick.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear BSmith0731 -

Thank you for the very good rating - we are the ideally location for anything special events at The Patriot Center and or the Center for the Arts. I want to sincerely apologize about your dining experience and I will most certainly share your feedback with our restaurant department to make sure we retrain our associates. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your return in the near future - until then we hope all your journey's are relaxing and safe.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were planning on staying with family in Fairfax, however due to unexpected circumstances got a hotel. I'm tired of the chains and their so so service and unpredictable sanitation standards. The Mason Inn was elegant. The service was welcoming and genuinely friendly. The only downside for me was the parking. We had a wonderful stay and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Christine M

We really appreciate the review and the excellent rating you awarded our hotel from your recent stay. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our staff and facilities, I will make sure to pass them along to your associates. I would like to hear further details about the parking issue since we do provide complimentary parking. I can be reached at (703) 865-4532. Thank you again for your gift of feedback – we look forward to your return in the near future and hope that your future journeys are safe and tranquil.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Markerting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here March of this year for 3 days (in wednesday out saturday). Got this room on priceline .... i knew there was a catch to getting a room this nice at 45 bucks a night where 2 of the days of the stay were weekdays.

Good: One of the nicest hotels i've been in ... everything was/is brand-new, beautiful, perfect condition. Decoration was nice, best sleep i've ever gotten in a hotel I wanted to take the bed with me....I think I even asked them how much were the pillows. Room-service was nice, remember them giving me extra waters just because and the room was delicious, everything I ordered was awesome....i ate a lot of room service i'll get to why in the cons tho. Fastest and free internet i've ever experienced in a hotel....almost as fast as my very hi-speed wireless at home. Nice front desk.

Cons: Snooty front restaurant staff, at least the 2 ladies I remember asking about warming something up for me in their microwave which the only one in the entire hotel was in the kitchen (weird). Oh yeah no fridge or microwave in my room and couldn't request any. I ordered a lot of room service because I was in the WORST LOCATION EVER. The location alone made me DEATHLY AFRAID to bid 3 star on priceline for fairfax ever again. It's stuck up inside of GMU campus....it's ON GMU campus....terrible terrible location if you have absolutely nothing GMU related going on in your life. I felt like I stuck stranded out in the boonies. Public trans forget about it unless you want to share the school's bus transportation for the student or you'll have to get a cab. So.....hope you have a car. And the whole "you need a keycard to use the elevator" was super annoying. I feel bad to give such a nice hotel such a sucky rating.... but the location killed it....I can't put inton enough words how much I hate the location this hotel is in and for that I'd never want to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear EBZ01 -

Thank you for your feedback and really appreciate the overall positive comments you provided our property from your visit back in March 2011. If you change your mind and decide to try our property again please know that we do have refridgerators that you can request at the front desk for your room. As for the needing a Keycard to access the elevators we hope that you can understand how serious we take the security of our guests here at The Mason Inn by limited access to anyone off the street to our guests floors. As for your other concerns I would be happy to discuss them with you over the phone if you have the time my direct line is (703) 865-4532. Thank you again for your gift of feedback and we hope that all your future travels are safe and relaxing.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.