We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We arrived around 9 pm weekday and asked a king size bed and a crib and a refig for milk, they said no kind size is available and told off i should call earlier. They said crib and refig will be delivered next morning, no they never show up. third day couple hours before check out we want to extend because of my meetings and they tried to charge twice what we paid online since they know my wife could not check out alone with a baby and I am in meetings. After some talking they agreed to extend still with an increased rate. I definitely do not recommend this place to any one. And BTW it is very very far away from DC and traffic is terrible.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for your gift of feedback. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding the issues you encountered during your stay so that we can share your concerns with our associates and improve our processes and communications with future guests. I can be reached by calling 1-877-296-6695.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
35
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I went to the Kylie Minogue concert at The Patriot Center. This hotel is very new, finished in July 2010. It's a very nice hotel. It was convenient to The Patriot Center and it was a short walk to the venue from the hotel. I am a vegetarian and asked for a certain sandwich and they made it for me. That was really nice. I would suggest a better room service menu with more variety. Otherwise, the rooms were very clean, staff was very nice and helpful and it was a great experience. Highly recommended. They let me check in early and check out late as well , at no additional cost. The Concierge was especially helpful and friendly. My only complaint was they put me near the elevators and it was a bit noisy at times.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear KCS1958 -

Thank you for chosing to stay at our property - As you mentioned we are in a great location for special events that take place at the Patriot Center as well as the Performing Arts Center on the Mason Campus. We look forward to your return and we appreicate your gift of feedback. We will review the current in-rooming dining menu and will also do our best to place you away from the elevators during future stays. Wishing you the safest of journeys during your travels.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Our son attends George Mason Univeristy, so this is very convenient when visiting him. The guest rooms are spacious, clean, and modern. The price is a bargain for the area. We had a few items that need tended to (coffe maker, drawer handle). The staff was there as returned to the room from guest services. We needed directions to a few places and they were so helpful to the extent of even printing them out for us. The conceirge desk is full of information and assistance. The bar is cozy, comfortable and has a nice selection of food. Also great friendly and fun bartenders. There is an eat-in restaurant it you do not want to leave the campus area. Great comfortable, friendly and helpful in all ways possible! This was not our first stay and we plan on returning again in May.

Room Tip: AAA and AARP disocunts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Public Relations Manager at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest -

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property during your recent trip to see your son here at GMU. We appricate all feedback, however, we love the positive kind the most and will make sure to share yours with our associates. We look forward to your return in May - have an inspiring day.

Sean Flynn
Director of Sales & Markerting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The hotel's location is very convenient to D.C.-area sightseeing. The free shuttle bus to the Vienna metro station makes District attractions accessible and the hotel is close enough to major highways to make it easy to drive to Va. sights like Manassas battlefield or the Air and Space Museum at Dulles. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, clean and classy, and the staff were helpful and courteous. The restaurant and bar in the hotel lobby are very nice (had a nice meal at The Well bar), but one also may eat inexpensively at excellent campus dining facilities within walking distance, from Jazzman's coffee to Chick-Fil-A to the Ratskeller (nice sandwiches, beer, etc.). Free parking, hard to find at D.C. hotels, was a bonus. Our only complaint was too-hard pillows.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We came to spend our vacation in Washington DC and surrounding areas, and chose to stay in Fairfax area for lower hotel price. The hotel was less than 30 minutes away from Great Falls National Park. Our children enjoyed riding a commuter train.

Staff members were always pleasant. Also, maybe since this place is part of an academic entity, the guests we encountered in the lobby, the elevator, in the aisle were very well-mannered. Room was simple, but clean. Towels and sheets smelled so good!

Only a few cons, but nothing big for this price: The pillows were a bit too hard and high. The sink was a bit too small to wash face. The smoke detector’s faint flickering bothered me a little, but eventually I could fall asleep. There was no air vent switch in bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flynn-sean, Director of Sales at The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to host you and your family during your vacation to the Washington DC area. We appreciate and value your feedback and have shared them with all our departments as we strive to meet and exceed all our guests’ expectations. We look forward to your return the next time you travel into the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Great eco-friendly hotel. Free parking and shuttle to Metro. Newer hotel, tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed at the Mason Inn for one night. My friend and I were lucky to find a good rate at the Mason Inn for $89/night. It was the only decent DC area hotel reasonably priced for that one evening. All the reviews about the Mason being nice, new and clean are true. We had a double corner room and it was furnished in a modern style and the toiletries were quite good. Unfortunately for us we arrived late night in dc on a rainy and had to take the metro to the end of the orange line (Vienna metro) and then rush to catch the last shuttle to the Inn. We decided to take a cab instead from the metro (around $17) instead of waiting for the shuttle which runs every half hour. Check out was smooth--we stopped for breakfast at the Hotel restaurant--ordering a la carte, we found their portion sizes to be on the large side (if that's your preference!). We took the free shuttle from the hotel at 730am and didn't get to downtown dc until almost 9am. So be warned: it is a bit far from the city--the shuttle had to make all campus stops and then navigate through some serious AM traffic. Also the vienna metro is the very end of the orange line, which is a 33 minute ride. I think the mason is perfect if you have to be in the Vienna/Fairfax area or on campus at GMU--but if you need to be in DC, be prepared to spend some extra time getting there.
Oh, and the fitness room in the hotel is really small (actually in a renovated corner hotel room)--i'd recommend checking out the rec center attached to the University--it is truly state of the art adn you have free access as a hotel guest. One good thing about the hotel gym is that there are free full-sized bottles of water.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel

Also Known As:
The Mason Inn Hotel
The Mason Inn Hotel Fairfax
The Mason Inn Conference Center And Hotel
Address: 4352 Mason Pond Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Inspired by the patriot spirit of George Mason, The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel provides an exceptional environment for work, study and special occasions in the center of Northern Virginia. As the Official Hotel and Conference Center of George Mason University this pristine hotel is dedicated to excellence in service and sustainability, as well as creating an environment conducive to learning and relaxing. The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel is nestled among a natural wooded setting on the south side of the University’s Campus in Fairfax, Virginia. The Conference Center & Hotel is distinguished as LEED-certified Gold by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the only full-service, upscale hotel in Fairfax and near George Mason University.Conveniently located with direct access from Route 123, The Mason Inn is easily accessible from throughout Virginia and the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. The Conference Center & Hotel offers all of the amenities of the George Mason University Campus and The Patriot Center, including accessible complimentary scheduled shuttle service around George Mason Campus, and to and from the Vienna Metro stop based on the University's weekday and weekend schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Inn Conference Center & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.