We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For GEORGE MASON U or Fairfax you cannot beat this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For GEORGE MASON U or Fairfax you cannot beat this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently spent three nights her, and utilized 2 suites, during the 2014 Graduation events at GEORGE MASON University. The hotel was reasonably priced, very centrally located and near major highway access and Fair Oaks Mall venues. The two-room set up was quiet, nice, bright (as long as you are OK with green) and clean; and the bed was extremely comfortable. The suite was equiped with a good size small refridgerator and microwave. Unlike many places where I have stayed, this one LOOKS like its photos on its web site. It's in great condition. WiFi and covered parking were included in the price as was a reasonable do-it-yourself breakfast. The front staff was knowledgeable and very helpful. It was great to have a dependable and comfortable place to return to each night after a full day of DC site-seeing and running around. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Wburgjoe, Thank you for your comments, and am so glad that you enjoyed our large suite and amenities as the refrigerator, wet bar, microwave, and close proximity to GMU. We always like to see or GMU families, that come back often and our covered garage, shields your car from the weather elements. We hope that you will continue to stay with us for tuture dates. and look forward to seseing you again. We hope that we can provide you with a stay that will exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    65
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
97
27
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albany ny
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We always stay at a Marriott but this was disappointing. Room was just ok. Who puts a tv between two rooms in a suite! Also breakfast was fair at best and the coffee was bad-full of coffee grounds. Got to use the shuttle to the Metro once-very handy. Does not run on weekends did not know that. Free parking in a garage and free wi fi was good. TV reception very poor.Pool only open at night .
Long story short good place for business not for family stay.Place was loud and packed with garbage due to motorcycle ridered nit hotels fault though

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Travelsalot/Albany.NY,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and we always want to exceed our guest expectations, and it seems that there we did not do that during your stay. We do offer many amenities to all types of travelers, and will definately use your information to make sure we can provide you with exceptional service and a great hotel, should you return to our area.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed one night while I was in Fairfax and needed to be close to George Mason and Fairfax City, so this was a great option. Reasonably priced and convenient to 66, 50 and the Fairfax County Parkway. The room was very nice, clean and large. The bed, like all Marriott beds, was very comfy and there was a lot of great lighting. The sofa in the living area had a nice chaise that I could chill out on. Amenities were good: nice breakfast (love the waffles) and the exercise room, though small, was perfect. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Jewel 1547, We received your comments and gald that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know that our amenitites, with the Fitness Center, and Breakfast buffet, are things that our travelers look forward to, and glad that you felt they met your needs. While we do try to exceed our guest expectations, I hope you will return to our area, and we can show you that our outstanding service will feel that we are the only hotel when in our area. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Booked three king rooms with request to have one close to the elevator which has honored, my elderly in-laws were in the room closet to the elevator; the other two rooms were a few doors down. The suite was absolutely spotless, the entire property appeared "new" but when I inquired I was told it was about 5 years old. I would describe the decor as "modern art deco". There is just one drawer so if you were hoping to "unpack" for an extended stay that could be an issue. All staff were very friendly and willing to help. The flat screen is located on a console between the bed and living area and rotates, the view from the bed is at an angle which did not bother me. Bed "comfort" was very good for me which I hesitate to comment on as personal preferences vary! Also impossible to rate "location" although the area appeared safe and there is a large sports bar to walk to three blocks away. The breakfast buffet was fresh and extensive with separate stations for many pastry/bread offerings as well as cold ham/cheese/hard boiled eggs in addition to the "main line" for make your own waffles, eggs, breakfast meat, hot/cold cereal and fresh fruit, etc. Picky criticism is that the plastic silverware is "weak" and the coffee was not "great" but is available 24/7. I would absolutely recommend and return to this property!

Room Tip: Ask for special requests in advance, mine were honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We reserved a two bed suite with sofabed for 4 travelers two months in advance for this Friday and Saturday night. We called ahead on Friday afternoon to inform the hotel that we would be arriving after midnight. Upon arrival, the room that we were allocated had just one bed, and we were told that they were totally booked and there was no other room available for us - this despite the fact that the reservation clearly spelled out the need for a two bed room for 4 people. To be fair, the front desk attendant was very helpful in bringing us a rollaway bed and bedding for the rollaway bed and sofa as well as enough towels for all of us, but it was very discouraging after being on the road for several hours and wanting nothing more than to go to bed on arrival to have to work through all of the hassle.
In addition to not having the beds and associated adequate space for our group, the room was strangely configured. There was only one dresser drawer in the entire suite. The bathroom had a toilet/tub/shower but no sink. The sink was out in the main room. I would have liked to be able to wash my hands in the bathroom. The TV was also located between the bedroom area and sitting area - there was really no good place to watch TV. This was a handicapped accessible room so perhaps that explains the strange configuration.
The complementary breakfast was complete with hot options (eggs, Canadian Bacon), cereals, toast/English muffins, yogurt, make your own waffles, etc. The toasters in the breakfast area were at the front of the breakfast buffet line which held up the flow through the line - they should be placed at a place where toast can be made without blocking everyone else flowing through the line. The coffee was awful - it was so weak to be almost tasteless.
We would not stay at this hotel again. It was clean and the staff was friendly, but overall it did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for a night as we were traveling through the area. I booked this hotel with an application on my phone called Hotels Tonight. For one thing. I LOVE LOVE SpringHill Suites. They are by far the best by far for comfort and and a quick breakfast which is included with your room stay.The staff is usually very helpful and warm as well. This hotel though was not the most comfortable one I have been in.The bed was NOT at ALL comfortable. I really missed the pillow top. I called down for more pillows....Sadly they never arrived. I went out to the car and got my own. This hotel is clean and in a safe area. It has a parking garage. There were three large college groups there but was quiet at night. Over all a good stay, just wish my bed was as cozy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed three nights and were very pleased with everything. The premises are very well maintained; the room was spotless and comfortable and the staff was extraordinarily friendly. You cannot pass near a staff member without receiving a friendly greeting. Parminder repeatedly asked if breakfast had been okay and did we need anything. Our grandsons enjoyed the pool, which was very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent - eggs, turkey sausage, waffles, assorted juices and a variety of cereals, breads and pastries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.