We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added SpringHill Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 10%
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

When looking for this hotel, it was given good reviews by others so I figured I would try it. Was a great place overall and the bed was soooo comfy! I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast but discovered a love of nutella (is an offering with the jams/spreads on site). Was hopping for waffle bar but what they did have was decent overall considering. Location was central to a lot of areas for food and shopping and I ended up going to 2 DSW's in the area (and making purchases at each). I would definitely stay again as the staff were very nice and helpful. Once or twice they may have been a bit too cheerful but I appreciated their efforts toward service excellence. One downside out of the hotel's control is the traffic in the area...please be sure to be strategic as you travel throughout the day to get around, especially related to the evening rush hour. Otherwise, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear caminkins99, On behalf of the staff of the SpringHill Suites, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and glad that you found Nutella on our Breakfast bar. Nutella is a new offering on our breakfast with other jams, jellies, nuts, fruits, and deli ham and cheese. It seems that you had a great eperience shopping in the Fairfax area, and we are very close to the Fair Oaks Mall also. I hope that you will return to our hotel again in your travels, and thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Geeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    69
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
101
28
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you want to watch television this place sucks. The entire visit (and I'm sitting in my room RIGHT NOW) the television stations kept getting "stuck', as in the picture on the television would stop, stay that way sometimes for several minutes! This happened especially on certain channels. Morning shows, talk shows, news, etc. This happened the last visit here many months ago, too. I thought this was fixed. No one seems to be interested in getting this cable problem fixed.
Breakfast was a joke. Went down at the stroke of 6:30 a.m. to avoid tour bus crowds later and there were shriveled strawberries and sparse items as if it were the END of breakfast and they were running low on items.
Not my first choice of hotel when in the area, that's for sure.
Also, the two reddish-brown stains on the curtain should be cleaned. Disgusting, especially when I use my imagination of what it could be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jen S, We appreciate your comments and I apologize for the problems you had with the TV channels, and the breakfast offerings. I would hope that you would contact us directly so that we can get more information and ask that you will allow us to show you that we have working cable stations. We recently switched our internet service, and this might have had some impact on your viewing the stations. We take all problems very seriously, and hope that if you are in our area again, you will let us know, so that we can upgrade your suite and give us a change to redeem ourselves. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in August to visit GMU, DC and NRA HQ/National Firearms Museum. This hotel has a great location near stores. Our rooms were equipped with refri, the breakfast was good.

We didn't have any problems as Gao at the front desk and the other staff took care of anything we needed. Gao took special care of us all.

We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Padua1, What a great comment on Gao, and her great service during your stay. We appreciate your comments and feedback, and we are very close to the Fair Oaks Mall, and many speciality restaurants as well. We are a new hotel, and always strive to make sure that our guests have a great experience, and will come back to see us. We would look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here one night and visited DC. Room was sparkling clean! Spacious! Breakfast had muffins, eggs, milk, coffee, cereal. etc. We really enjoyed our stay here. Beds were so comfortable! Along with the sofa bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Louiepic, We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your experience at the SpringHill Suites, and am very glad that you like our new breakfast items, and the spacious rooms. We hope that our guests leave our hotel. and will always consider us when they are in the DC Metro/Virginia area, and please let me know if your return to the area, so that we can make sure you have great service. Hope we see you soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean rooms, staff is very accommodating, Breakfast is well done, parking is free, location to activities is great. Mall , restaurants all within short distance. Rooms are spacious with refrigerators .

Room Tip: low floor , ask to be away from large groups
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent energy saving windows and lights recycle done
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Louiepic, We really appreciate your great comments on our hotel, and are so glad that you were able to enjoy our new breakfast with alot more choices, and that we are within 1 mile of the Fair Oaks Mall, and many speciality restuarants, as well as local favorites. We always like to hear how our guests experience was and will look forward to seeing you again if you return to our area.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything is very nice here, except the breakfast which can be better. We loved our stay at this hotel and we do recommend it.The front desk guys are really helpfull. Was really nice that we could live our stuff at the reception after our check-out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Ilovesanta, I appreciate your comments on our hotel, and we did just increase our variety of options for our guests, and I am sorry that you did not feel that we had what you were looking for. I hope that our other amenities were great, and that you will come back to see us again, if you are in the area. Please let us know you are coming so that we can upgrade your suite.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked our room the night before travel and got a great AAA rate of $71 for king suite with sofa-bed, far lower than older style hotels in the area. Larger rooms than standard, but slightly smaller than Embassy Suites. Only issues were badly stained couch cushions and blankets less than fresh. Towels were good quality, with excellent shower pressure, and complimentary Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner. Unique LED lighting above bed with 2 dimmer switches that we used as night lighting. Small in-room 'fridge and wet bar at front of room. Wireless and Ethernet free and fast. Parking garage with 3 levels for adequate parking. Breakfast buffet fully stocked with eggs, sausage, croissant, bagels, yogurt, granola, fruit, etc. Also waffle makers that I believe are only offered on weekends. Staff very friendly, Check-in clerk was GMU grad student who was engaging and attentive. Would easily stay here again when visiting our daughter at George Mason.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Toe2ner, I am so glad that your stay was one that you had noticed many of our amenities, and we just started to use the Paul Mitchell products in our suites, as well as increase our hot breakfast items with crossants, deli ham, cheese, fresh strawberrier, 8 toppings for our homemade oatmeal, several kinds of sweet breads, cereals, and of course eggs, and bacon or sausage. It is nice to see that our guests take advantage of our parking garage also, that keeps your vehicle under cover and out of the elements of weather. I am sure that being so close to GMU, will help you when you return to the area, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.