We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George Mason University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 10%
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“George Mason University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here to visit college, great hotel , reasonable rates, 10 minute drive to campus
hotel was very clean, had a half wall , so not really a suite, but offered some privacy, 1 tv in center of room, tilt for either the sofa or the beds, great wi fi, small area for microwave, fridge, sink , counter, large desk with L shape pull out sofa, breakfast buffet was better than normal, eggs, canadian bacon, french toast sticks, waffle maker, cheese, oatmeal, fixins for eggs , oatmeal, fresh fruit, donuts, muffins, juice , yogurt, exceptionally clean, my only complaint would be the pool, (small ) , it was cold at night , 8:00, warm earlier, I checked but at night it was very cold , could not swim, thats why 4 stars not 5
the hotel is about 15 minute drive to the space museum, had a great time there
Parking garage offered plenty of spots to park also it was nice , not dark and dingy
plenty of malls in area to shop
ate at prime time pub, 1 minute away, apps were great , dinner was nothing special

Room Tip: ask for the L shaped sofa, some are only a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    71
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
103
30
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Really nice, helpful staff. Nice hot breakfast. Clean. Work out room & pool more than adequate. In-room coffe sucks, but really good complimentary joe in the lobby. Good parking garage. Heavier snacks &the drinks for sale in lobby. Decent wifi. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here 1 night in a king suite for a very reasonable rate. Loved the L shaped sofa (so much better than hotel chairs), fridge, microwave & computer area being separate from the sleeping area. The very white linens were a nice touch, easy to tell they were clean! We were lucky to face a small courtyard so no road noise. Breakfast had a good selection of options from healthy: Greek yogurt w/ a number of 'mix in' options, scrambled eggs & Kashi cereal to more sugary options: sweetened cereals, mini donuts & poppy seed cake. The waffle makers were not working but are apparently often available. Friendly staff throughout.

Room Tip: Facing small courtyard has less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount airy, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is clean and well light with nicely appointed rooms. Although there seemed to be a respectable number of guests in the hotel, it was always quiet. The hotel staff were ultimate professionals who checked to make sure everything was meeting/exceeding my expectations. No thanks to VA DOT / Fairfax county zoning, the road into the hotel is not the most user friendly in that it requires a u-turn to get back to Route 50. Nonetheless, I would definitely stay here again when on company business in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello, We appreciate your comments, and hope that the next time you are in the Fairfax area, that you will stay at our new SpringHill Suites. We always strive to give our guests exceptional service, variety of our hot breakfast offerings, and exceeding your expectations. We realize that the hotel entrance is on one side of the road, and is more easily accessable though our garage. Again, we like to hear your comments, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is new, has a friendly staff, very good breakfast, and you cannot help but appreciate the well lite and spacious parking garage. If arriving from the south you have to make a u-turn to get into the parking area/hotel driveway which is rather inconvenient but easy to do.

The one drawback on the hotel is the level of road noise that comes into the rooms. The angle of the hotel on the intersection means that both sides of the hotel cannot escape road noise. Fortunately the roadways are used almost exclusively by cars rather than large loud trucks.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the west end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our new hotel, and I am sorry that the entrance to the hotel is a little turnaround at the corner entrance. Our garage can provide a drive through to Government Center Parkway, a easier exit. I hope that if you return to our area, that you will let us know in advance, so that we can provide you with exceptioinal service, a great breakfast, and upgrade you. Again, thank you and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The staff make it a great stay. Comfy rooms. Good location for Northern Va. Plenty of food, drink, entertainment, shopping if u must, and outdoor opportunities. $5.00 movie Wednesday at the nearby 14 screen multiplex.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, NJ
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a very pleasant place to spend four nights. We found our mini-suite room well appointed and very comfortable. The included breakfast offered many options, including several hot items, such as waffles, eggs, breakfast meat (which varied by day), oatmeal and mini-quiches. One feature that I have not seen too often elsewhere is the availability of beer and wine in the cold drinks cooler in the lobby.

More than anything what stood out for my wife and I was the uniformly pleasant and helpful service provided by the reception desk staff, the breakfast room attendant and the woman who serviced our room.

The hotel is located just off I 66 within a short drive to many restaurants, a shopping mall and other shopping areas, the Air and Space Museum in Chantilly, George Mason University and downtown Fairfax.

We would certainly stay here again and we recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.