We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 10%
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great price for a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at the SprinHill Suites for 4 nights with a group of Girl Scout Families. We were there to take part in Girl Scouts Rock the Mall which celebrated 100 years of Girl Scouting. After seraching for a clean, safe and comfortable hotel for our group to stay at and trying to reach several other contacts at other hotels( who were not helpful at all), I was VERY HAPPY to come in contact with Bryan, who was our group contact at this hotel. He was VERY HELPFUL, always available to answer questions and helped to make sure everything was ready for our stay. The rooms were just like they are described and it was nice to have a wall that partially seperates the living area and the sleeping area. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and enabled us to get a good nights sleep after very busy days in DC. The staff was very trustworthy, in fact 1 day I accidently left an envelpoe which contained about $150 in cash on a table in the room and when we returned I was very happy to find that it was still exactly where I had left it. The morning breakfast and cookies at night are very nice touches. Since most of our time was spent in DC, we were very happy with the short drive to the metro station and the 30-40 minute commute on the metro to get to DC. The hotel is located in a very safe area. There are lots of places close by to eat at and there is a nice mall within a short driving distance which has several other places to eat at. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with a helpful staff, which is not overpriced and you do not mind a short commute to the city I would definately recommend staying at SpringHill Suites. I know that when we return to the area we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    67
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
98
27
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked the Marriott in Fairfax for a week for my teenage son and myself. I was looking for a hotel that wasn't astronomically priced that was near a metro station so we could do some sightseeing in DC. This hotel fit the bill perfectly! Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Room was great, with a separate sitting area though it didn't seem much bigger than a standard hotel room. Nice decor...fridge and microwave in room. The hotel was pretty full, but we were never bothered by noise. Fitness room and small heated pool with a lifeguard that we used one evening. Breakfast was the typical fare with muffins, cereal, fruit, waffles, eggs and sausage each morning. It was well stocked and hot. Snacks & microwavable foods available for purchase in the lobby...rather pricey, but very convenient!

Garage parking with no fee like some of the hotels nearer to DC.

Complimentary wireless worked fine for us and no trouble with Verizon cell phone reception.

There are plenty of restaurants and fast food places nearby. We especially enjoyed Angelico's Pizza one evening. Also nearby is a Wal-mart and K-mart.

We utilized the metro each day, driving to the Vienna station which was just a couple exits down the road. The hotel does offer shuttle service to the metro station at certain times, but I prefered to drive so we could set our own schedule.

Right off the highway so very easy to find. You could drive into DC easily from here if you desired.

Very happy with our experience. Only thing we would have liked...a hot tub, especially after walking all day in Washington!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

highly recommend, breakfast cheese omelet was fresh and good, a rarity for a standard breakfast fare, plenty of shopping nearby, for some pleasant restaurants visit Fairfax Corner appox. 1 mile from hotel. Highly recommend Thai by Thai on Fairfax Boulevard, modest price and superb. We were visiting George Mason University, location is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a great, clean hotel with modern finishes. They have a nice market in the lobby, or there is Wegmans less than a mile away. The hotel staff is wonderful; I would like to say a special thank you to Parminder and Rebecca for being so kind and helpful.

I would say the only downside is that the complimentary breakfast isn't the best, but besides that you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Fairly new property with very hip and modern decor. Garage parking, arrive early otherwise you're on the top level and have to either wait for the slow elevator or risk walking down one of the two stairwells that didn't feel too safe. Cell phone service for me wasn't as great as I would have expected. Location is near Route 50, Lee Highway, and I-66. Free breakfast, but didn't partake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Would have given an Excellent score if I had stayed longer, but I didn't stay long enough to evaluate all of the hotel's offerings. Didn't have a chance to try their breakfast, fitness room or pool. This is another new Springhill with the harem curtains and the aquatic vibe in the lobby. I guess some decorator has convinced Marriott that this is a good look. The Ashburn VA property has the same décor. It doesn’t detract from the overall appeal of the property, it just requires a comment. I only stayed one night and had an early flight from Dulles in the morning, so I didn’t have the breakfast or use the fitness room or pool. Most important to me is that the coffee was freshly brewed and ready to pour when we got downstairs at 5AM to leave for the airport. We also asked the front desk if we could have something from the kitchen since we were leaving early. Of course, breakfast wasn’t even near ready, but he did offer us muffins and some other prepackaged food to take with us. This was a nice touch, since we missed the comp breakfast. The room is spacious with a separate work area and sitting area. The bathroom large, with a separate sink/vanity area so one can shower while the other is at the sink. Plenty of easy to reach electrical outlets for cellphones, laptops etc. The wireless internet was fairly fast and didn’t drop out at all. There is plenty of free parking in the multi-level parking garage. I agree with an earlier reviewer, it’s better to up or down a level in order to park closer to the elevator. The short walk from the garage to the front door is covered, so you are out of the elements – somewhat. It is tricky getting into and out of the property. The entrance is on the other side of the building from the cross-street/traffic light; and you exit onto a different street than you enter. Very convenient to Dulles and there are restaurants and shops very closeby. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is less traffic noise in the rooms facing the parking garage (front of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were pleased with our stay at the Marriott in Fairfax. Here are the plusses and minuses in no particular order: on the plus side, the front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly and helpful; the hotel was clean and our room in particular was very, very clean (especially the bathroom); I liked that the beds did not have bedspreads (which you know aren't washed between customers) but had a thin decorative throw that was easily removed; the shower had plenty of hot, hot water; the free breakfast was a real time and money saver (nice variety of foods--some better than others--, both hot and cold and excellent coffee; it got a little crowded at the food table but there were plenty of seats; we often took our food up to our room); the decor was modern and fun; I saw the cleaning staff frequently working hard and they were friendly as well; the location was very convenient for finding restaurants and shopping (there is a Walmart and a KMart nearby and lots of restaurants and the surrounding area was clean, not run down at all...we felt very safe); the hotel was quiet when we were there....I really only saw other people at breakfast; the temperature of the room was easy to regulate and the room cooled and warmed up quickly; it was nice that the room had a sitting area and a sink and mirror outside the bathroom so that if one person wanted to shower or go to the bathroom and another wanted to brush teeth, do hair, etc., at the same time you could.

The minuses: the pool was very cloudy (the lifeguard was very nice and immediately checked the water when we asked about it and he said it was in the safe range, but it was a bit disconcerting. Our kids swam only once because we didn't feel too good about the cloudiness); the beds are doubles and not queens...just know what you're getting; the location is convenient but not particularly picturesque or charming (you see basically highway and shopping centers); you'll need to get a shuttle or drive to the Metro (make sure to sign up at the front desk for a shuttle b/c they fill up fast); if you do the shuttle you can't leave downtown until 5:30 at the earliest; if you drive to the Metro you have to hope and pray you get parking there; if you drive in to DC itself you have to deal with traffic (we got stuck for over an hour trying to get out of DC one day when we drove in); know that if you go in to DC early, an all-day Metro pass is not good until 9:30 a.m. and museums don't open until 10a.m., so there will be time to pass waiting.
All in all, we are happy with our stay at the Marriot. Next time we would probably stay closer to the Metro, but for a family of four, it was a good experience and we recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#7 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.