We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip hotel decor at fairly new property...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very hip hotel decor at fairly new property...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Fairly new property with very hip and modern decor. Garage parking, arrive early otherwise you're on the top level and have to either wait for the slow elevator or risk walking down one of the two stairwells that didn't feel too safe. Cell phone service for me wasn't as great as I would have expected. Location is near Route 50, Lee Highway, and I-66. Free breakfast, but didn't partake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    65
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
97
27
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Would have given an Excellent score if I had stayed longer, but I didn't stay long enough to evaluate all of the hotel's offerings. Didn't have a chance to try their breakfast, fitness room or pool. This is another new Springhill with the harem curtains and the aquatic vibe in the lobby. I guess some decorator has convinced Marriott that this is a good look. The Ashburn VA property has the same décor. It doesn’t detract from the overall appeal of the property, it just requires a comment. I only stayed one night and had an early flight from Dulles in the morning, so I didn’t have the breakfast or use the fitness room or pool. Most important to me is that the coffee was freshly brewed and ready to pour when we got downstairs at 5AM to leave for the airport. We also asked the front desk if we could have something from the kitchen since we were leaving early. Of course, breakfast wasn’t even near ready, but he did offer us muffins and some other prepackaged food to take with us. This was a nice touch, since we missed the comp breakfast. The room is spacious with a separate work area and sitting area. The bathroom large, with a separate sink/vanity area so one can shower while the other is at the sink. Plenty of easy to reach electrical outlets for cellphones, laptops etc. The wireless internet was fairly fast and didn’t drop out at all. There is plenty of free parking in the multi-level parking garage. I agree with an earlier reviewer, it’s better to up or down a level in order to park closer to the elevator. The short walk from the garage to the front door is covered, so you are out of the elements – somewhat. It is tricky getting into and out of the property. The entrance is on the other side of the building from the cross-street/traffic light; and you exit onto a different street than you enter. Very convenient to Dulles and there are restaurants and shops very closeby. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is less traffic noise in the rooms facing the parking garage (front of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were pleased with our stay at the Marriott in Fairfax. Here are the plusses and minuses in no particular order: on the plus side, the front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly and helpful; the hotel was clean and our room in particular was very, very clean (especially the bathroom); I liked that the beds did not have bedspreads (which you know aren't washed between customers) but had a thin decorative throw that was easily removed; the shower had plenty of hot, hot water; the free breakfast was a real time and money saver (nice variety of foods--some better than others--, both hot and cold and excellent coffee; it got a little crowded at the food table but there were plenty of seats; we often took our food up to our room); the decor was modern and fun; I saw the cleaning staff frequently working hard and they were friendly as well; the location was very convenient for finding restaurants and shopping (there is a Walmart and a KMart nearby and lots of restaurants and the surrounding area was clean, not run down at all...we felt very safe); the hotel was quiet when we were there....I really only saw other people at breakfast; the temperature of the room was easy to regulate and the room cooled and warmed up quickly; it was nice that the room had a sitting area and a sink and mirror outside the bathroom so that if one person wanted to shower or go to the bathroom and another wanted to brush teeth, do hair, etc., at the same time you could.

The minuses: the pool was very cloudy (the lifeguard was very nice and immediately checked the water when we asked about it and he said it was in the safe range, but it was a bit disconcerting. Our kids swam only once because we didn't feel too good about the cloudiness); the beds are doubles and not queens...just know what you're getting; the location is convenient but not particularly picturesque or charming (you see basically highway and shopping centers); you'll need to get a shuttle or drive to the Metro (make sure to sign up at the front desk for a shuttle b/c they fill up fast); if you do the shuttle you can't leave downtown until 5:30 at the earliest; if you drive to the Metro you have to hope and pray you get parking there; if you drive in to DC itself you have to deal with traffic (we got stuck for over an hour trying to get out of DC one day when we drove in); know that if you go in to DC early, an all-day Metro pass is not good until 9:30 a.m. and museums don't open until 10a.m., so there will be time to pass waiting.
All in all, we are happy with our stay at the Marriot. Next time we would probably stay closer to the Metro, but for a family of four, it was a good experience and we recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here with my family. Property is still new and offered an excellent breakfast. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

As frequent Marriott customer (Platinum Level), this place is great the staff goes out of their way to make me feel comfortable, in my home away from home. I specially enjoy talking to the staff they are so friendly. I have stayed at every level of Marriott hotel, and the service I get here rivals the JW Marriotts. Because of my positive experience here, I stay here when ever I come to the Fairfax area! Great work!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband, son, and I stayed one night at this hotel during a college tour week as we went to see George Mason University. The location was convenient. The room had one bed and a sofa bed which worked out well for our situation. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful.

The Fair Oaks Mall was close by and we were able to get some dinner over there. The front desk gave us a full list of restaurants close by.

We found the hotel to be clean and pleasant. An average room for very little money as compared to other hotels during this trip.

The breakfast was included and it was your typical buffet with cereal, eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit, etc.... It was enough to get us on our way in time for the admissions session at GMU.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The room was clean. However, the setup was not like the pictures on the Springhill website. The website stated that the rooms were the new design and they were not. I did like the shuttle service to the metro and the hotel is located near place to dine. Also, the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.