We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not just the wine that makes it very good ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine House

The Wine House
3950 University Dr., Suite 212, Fairfax, VA 22030
703 352-2211
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #46 of 339 restaurants in Fairfax
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's not just the wine that makes it very good ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our meal was wonderful - a great pairing of wine and food. First, a word to the wise: Both times I visited The Wine House there were patrons queued waiting for table seating. It worked best to call ahead and make a reservation for their 6pm seating to avoid the wait. At least the folks waiting had some nice beverages to enjoy!

We had a good idea of what we intended to order from the menu, so we opted for a bottle of the owner's New Zealand vineyard's pinot gris, which was earthy/floral and just right. The artisanal cheese and charcuterie board appetizer is customized to suit your appetite. We had the evening special - a spinach-stuffed flounder with beurre blanc accompanied by fingerling potatoes and haricot verts - and pan-seared salmon with orange & balsamic honey glaze, baby bok choy and sauteed Potato. Both meals were delicious.

Our server, Kylie, was very attentive, but not intrusive. The Wine House uses dried grass arrangements as table dividers to split their four-tops into two two-tops. I could imagine some couples having a problem with the lack of intimacy that a separate table would provide.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    13
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wine Experts Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is AMAZING! Definately go on a Wednesday for a flight night, you can split it even with a friend. A meat and cheese board usually can accomplish your hunger. Jeremy the chef is amazing there and the flavors he created pair well with anything they offer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A rare find in Fairfax City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Regularly hit for lunch and a great choice for happy hour. I've yet to visit for dinner, but it's on my list of things to do. Wonderful wines, sandwiches and salads, although removing the salads from the summer menu, and replacing with only a spinch salad and grilled vegetable salad has not been a popular move among your regular lunch customers. The former menu featured wonderful salads with grilled chicken and steak that were consistently delicious, yummy sandwiches, and the always popular cheese board.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It really is all about the wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Wine House is a rarity. More wine store with nice food than restaurant and that is how it should be. The wine selection is interesting to say the least with something from just about everywhere and an intriguing approach. The food is always good, but it really is about the wine and finding something nice to eat with it. The prices are reasonable. Wines selling for 20 or 30 dollars retail get a mark up of $10 - a corkage fee basically.

What impressed me most were the excellent Virginia Voignier and Sierra Foothills Zinfandel - wines not usually on anyone's wine list and certainly not at these great prices. The passion fruit creme bruelle was to die for - not your typical pudding with crust. Also had the crusted short ribs, which again were excellent.

But, really this is about wine and it shows. Servers are knowledgeable and attentive and the manager is really helpful in providing great recommendations.

This is a nice casual date nice place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little place in Downtown Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have been to The Wine House on several occasions (with the hubby for a relaxing dinner out/date nights, with friends for a glass of wine and lively conversation, and with colleagues for a Holiday Dinner). Every time I have visited this establishment I have left satisfied with the wine, food and service. The owner is very knowledgable about wine and has made several excellent recommendations. We often leave with a bottle of wine to take home after being impressed by a wine we tried that evening. The food has always been of excellent quality (everything from the cheese and charcuterie platter to entrees and desserts- don't forget to try the bread pudding!). We also enjoy going on Wednesday evenings (6:30-8PM) for their wine flight nights. We actually enjoyed it so much that we recently became members of their Wine Club. All in all this is a great place to go for a relaxing evening with some great food and wine!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine House also viewed

 

Been to The Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.