We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good music, good food, great fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub

The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub
3971 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 293-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 343 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fairfax VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good music, good food, great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been friends of the Shebeen since it opened 6 or 7 years ago. The managers and staff go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant experience every time. All menu items are excellent and the food is reasonable priced. Good choices of draft beers including Guinness, Harp, and Smithwick's. Great Irish music on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Apple
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delightful Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

During the last week of October 2012 and the first week of November 2012, we visited this pub twice. It is an active place with marvelous Irish music presented live.
Our food was most enjoyable. We had fish and chips the first time , and sandwiches the second time. Service was friendly and efficient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great Irish pub with good food and quality entertainment. It's been a favorite with my kids for years, they love the Shepherds pie and don't complain about eating the veggies that come with this dish.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice authentic Irish evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went on a Friday night which was busy, but there was no wait to be seated. There was entertainment (a man with his guitar singing Irish songs), and the baseball games on the tvs. Our server, (Adolpho?) was fabulous. He even remembered our son from the one time he was there before. Very knowledgeable about baseball! The food was very good, and they have a huge selection of beer n tap. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbank
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is probably my most visited spot. I even came here 2-3 times a week, whether it was with a friend, church group, or husband.

Likes: Awesome Shepherd's Pie. Every time I get it---super filling and just right (not too mushy and not too dry). Potato Leak soup is yummy! The steak salad was a hit with my sister!

The owner is constantly present and helping out. You may not see him every time but considering I went there a lot, I was surprised how many times I saw him waitering, cleaning off tables, making sure everyone is doing ok. Now that is a great and kind restaurant owner!

The "irish pub" ambience with words and quotes written on the walls all around in celtic-type fonts. The "library" (the room to the right when you walk right in) is cozy and awesome for a large group. Love the irish music nights too!

Awesome service. Sometimes it gets realllllly crowded and they apologize when it takes long. Most of the time, they are constantly there for you and very friendly! Stephanie and other waiters and waitresses were great! We know each other by names now!

Great variety on alcohol but I always get a Guinness so I can't say much about this area haha.
Note: I had my wedding dinner here! We got married in the historic courthouse right across the street and reserved the library for dinner for 15 people. It can fit around 22 people in the library. They were SO accommodating. When asked about where we can store my cake, they said they had a fridge in the back we can use. They were so great that day!

Had a nice quiet dinner one night during the week with my husband. This time, we were down in the basement when there wasn't a music show going on. The owner and another bartender was there serving us at the bar. We were the only ones eating and drinking at the bar and it was quite nice! It was as if we had a quite pub place to ourselves. The owner stopped by to check on us too and we told him we were the ones who had a wedding dinner the previous year.

Dislikes: Yes, it is always always busy, crowded and loud here on a Friday or Saturday night. There is a basement for music shows, so yes, it can get loud. At moments I had to yell to the person across the table to talk, but hey, it is a pub restaurant so you have to expect some of this! Come when it is not busy and you'll see a difference. I have experienced both.

Definitely recommend.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.