We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub

The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub
3971 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 293-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great Irish pub with good food and quality entertainment. It's been a favorite with my kids for years, they love the Shepherds pie and don't complain about eating the veggies that come with this dish.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice authentic Irish evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went on a Friday night which was busy, but there was no wait to be seated. There was entertainment (a man with his guitar singing Irish songs), and the baseball games on the tvs. Our server, (Adolpho?) was fabulous. He even remembered our son from the one time he was there before. Very knowledgeable about baseball! The food was very good, and they have a huge selection of beer n tap. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbank
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is probably my most visited spot. I even came here 2-3 times a week, whether it was with a friend, church group, or husband.

Likes: Awesome Shepherd's Pie. Every time I get it---super filling and just right (not too mushy and not too dry). Potato Leak soup is yummy! The steak salad was a hit with my sister!

The owner is constantly present and helping out. You may not see him every time but considering I went there a lot, I was surprised how many times I saw him waitering, cleaning off tables, making sure everyone is doing ok. Now that is a great and kind restaurant owner!

The "irish pub" ambience with words and quotes written on the walls all around in celtic-type fonts. The "library" (the room to the right when you walk right in) is cozy and awesome for a large group. Love the irish music nights too!

Awesome service. Sometimes it gets realllllly crowded and they apologize when it takes long. Most of the time, they are constantly there for you and very friendly! Stephanie and other waiters and waitresses were great! We know each other by names now!

Great variety on alcohol but I always get a Guinness so I can't say much about this area haha.
Note: I had my wedding dinner here! We got married in the historic courthouse right across the street and reserved the library for dinner for 15 people. It can fit around 22 people in the library. They were SO accommodating. When asked about where we can store my cake, they said they had a fridge in the back we can use. They were so great that day!

Had a nice quiet dinner one night during the week with my husband. This time, we were down in the basement when there wasn't a music show going on. The owner and another bartender was there serving us at the bar. We were the only ones eating and drinking at the bar and it was quite nice! It was as if we had a quite pub place to ourselves. The owner stopped by to check on us too and we told him we were the ones who had a wedding dinner the previous year.

Dislikes: Yes, it is always always busy, crowded and loud here on a Friday or Saturday night. There is a basement for music shows, so yes, it can get loud. At moments I had to yell to the person across the table to talk, but hey, it is a pub restaurant so you have to expect some of this! Come when it is not busy and you'll see a difference. I have experienced both.

Definitely recommend.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Piece of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a great Irish themed restaurant! Food is very good, reasonably priced. Beer is good, wine selections okay. Music nice!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I come here mainly for lunch, and the occasional happy hour. The Shebeen never fails to please. Lunchtime meals are excellent, in my opinion: good sandwiches, really good fresh salads, filling & tasty Irish fare. My British friend rates the Shebeen's shepherds pie as outstanding. Good selection of beers, which the barkeeps know how to pour (beer drinkers will know what I mean). The pub's Irish owners seem a constant presence, looking after the competent and very friendly staff, and making sure the clientele are satisfied. The ambience is Irish-American pub style, with house music (generally folk and traditional Irish) kept pleasantly low. Televisions are lined above the bar for the sports fans. Again, the volume is kept low, or mute, so you can enjoy a conversation, a quiet read, while hearing yourself think and not needing to shout.

The Shebeen has a lunch card: buy five lunches and the sixth is on the house (Monday through Saturday). There's a nice Irish music jam session on Saturday afternoons, which families find enjoyable. I can't comment on evenings at the Shebeen; as mentioned, I'm a lunch time visitor. But the Shebeen has been around for over seven years, so they're obviously doing something right!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.