We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub

The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub
3971 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 293-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 343 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We ate here after a 10 hr ride. The beer was icy cold, the food relish, and because it was a Saturday evening, there was an Irish band playing. I'm thinking of going there this evening (3/18/12) while I'm in town.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were on a brief vacation, and saw this Pub. We had dinner, with a few drinks.... loved the pictures on the walls, the food selections, and the service was outstanding. Made for a lovely evening!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Irish Pub With OK Food -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Located in downtown Fairfax City - this restaurant has very interesting Irish pub interior - large bar area - food though was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The Lilt of Irish Laughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had another whale of a time at The Auld Shebeen last Friday. We were greeted, like family, by Mikey at the door. It was packed and we were graced with the lilt of Irish Laughter! The Irish Music started up at 7 PM and it was good for the soul to hear authentic Irish Music. This is the best place for Irish Music in the DC area. Being from Boston and a frequent visitor to the Olde Country, we know good Irish Music when we hear it. As for the food, we both had our Cahill Irish Stout Burgers. I thank the heavens for the person that dreamed up this burger. You can't go wrong on any food selections as the food is always tasty and cooked to perfection. There were people of all ages as it was a great place for families too. We are moving out of the area and will miss The Auld Shebeen. My top 2 Iirsh pubs for me has been McDermott's in Doolin and The Auld Shebeen. May the Irish music, food and laughter continue to refresh the soul at The Auld Shebeen in Fairfax, Virginia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great food, fun atmosphere and a really good staff.

This place has excellent food and for late night is fun for live music, darts, or dancing. I also enjoy the weekly trivia nights as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.