We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub

The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub
3971 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
+1 703-293-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Auld Shebeen is Fairfax City's only authentic Irish Pub and Restaurant. In Ireland a Shebeen was an illicit drinking den, an after hours speakeasy where once inside people found good familiar conversation, drink, friends and great food! Fascinating history surrounds these shebeens that have always offered excitement for local patrons and will forever be a part of Irish lore. Our Menu is based on both traditional Irish recipes and American cuisine. Our house specialties include our Seafood Stew, Dubliner Stuffed Chicken and our Filet Mignon with Irish whiskey and green peppercorn sauce,with many others including many traditional Irish pub favorites like our Guinness Beef Stew, Shepherd's Pie or Fish and Chips. So whether it is a few quiet pints after work or a special evening out, here at The Auld Shebeen we will do our utmost to make your visit with us a special one. We feature live traditional Irish music every Friday and Saturday in the restaurant.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We ate here after a 10 hr ride. The beer was icy cold, the food relish, and because it was a Saturday evening, there was an Irish band playing. I'm thinking of going there this evening (3/18/12) while I'm in town.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were on a brief vacation, and saw this Pub. We had dinner, with a few drinks.... loved the pictures on the walls, the food selections, and the service was outstanding. Made for a lovely evening!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Irish Pub With OK Food -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Located in downtown Fairfax City - this restaurant has very interesting Irish pub interior - large bar area - food though was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Lilt of Irish Laughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had another whale of a time at The Auld Shebeen last Friday. We were greeted, like family, by Mikey at the door. It was packed and we were graced with the lilt of Irish Laughter! The Irish Music started up at 7 PM and it was good for the soul to hear authentic Irish Music. This is the best place for Irish Music in the DC area. Being from Boston and a frequent visitor to the Olde Country, we know good Irish Music when we hear it. As for the food, we both had our Cahill Irish Stout Burgers. I thank the heavens for the person that dreamed up this burger. You can't go wrong on any food selections as the food is always tasty and cooked to perfection. There were people of all ages as it was a great place for families too. We are moving out of the area and will miss The Auld Shebeen. My top 2 Iirsh pubs for me has been McDermott's in Doolin and The Auld Shebeen. May the Irish music, food and laughter continue to refresh the soul at The Auld Shebeen in Fairfax, Virginia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great food, fun atmosphere and a really good staff.

This place has excellent food and for late night is fun for live music, darts, or dancing. I also enjoy the weekly trivia nights as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Shebeen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.