We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtside Thai Cuisine

Courtside Thai Cuisine
3981 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-3315
703-934-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 345 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
“Good food, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I had been hankering for some good Thai food. After we had heard rave reviews about Courtside, we thought we would check it out. While we were there, a few major problems arose:

- They were completely understaffed, with probably 4 people total serving - including the cook, who dropped off our meal.
- Our waiter confused our order, forgetting that we asked for satay.
- The bartender shook our martinis in a shaker that had just been used for margaritas, making them taste like sweet & sour.
- The cook who brought our meal hit my husband's martini with the dish and spilled it, then no offer to replace the drink.
- We definitely received two orders of the same curry, but with different meats in them. We had ordered massaman and panang, but they tasted *exactly* the same, down to the use of onions and potatoes when panang is supposed to have lime leaves and peppers. Don't get me wrong, they were tasty, but we didn't order two dishes of massaman.

By the time we left, we hadn't had our waters refilled fully, had water and gin spilled on our table, had at least 4 different people bring things to our table, and our order thoroughly screwed up. We agreed - never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We love Thai food but this was probably the worst Thai restaurant that we've been to for a number of reasons. We were greeted by a large dog running around the restaurant - the dog belongs to the owners of the restaurant! Then, while we were sitting at our table, I saw someone filling a candy jar with candy coated, chocolate covered mints. The candy was not individually wrapped but was just loose candy. The person filling the jar dropped some of the candy on the floor, scooped the mints off the floor and put them in the jar! I'm not making this up!! To top it all off, the food was disappointing and flavorless. We will never go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Everything is Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Last weekend we took a group of friends to Courtside Thai--some of whom had never tried Thai food before. We ordered the house-special spring rolls and satay to start, both very tasty. The grilled shrimp and mango salad and Tom Ka Gai were also delicious. My husband and I ordered curries (one Panang and one yellow curry) and they were both very tasty. Our friends enjoyed the Gai Pad Pak and the ginger chicken very much as well, and decided that they were fans of Thai cuisine. This is my second time eating here, and I must say, the quality of everything we tasted was very good. Thai is our personal favorite cuisine, so we are pretty picky. But we will definitely be coming here more often!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good. If you love spicy- this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I almost always get Pad Thai and if you like it spicy, you'll be sweating by the time you're through. The staff is extremely responsive and caters to your specific orders.
Desserts are also a must here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best since Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Outstanding meal of four appetizers, each one with authentic, different flavors. Best larb ever if you love cilantro. The whole rockfish at the neighboring table looked fantastic, and there was nothing left on the platter. How have we missed dining here in the six years it has been open? We'll be back soon and plan to eat in the herb garden.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtside Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Courtside Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtside Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.