We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
4200 Fairfax Corner West Avenue, Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 222-8097
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Eat here a few times a year usually for lunch on a weekend or govt. holiday. Upside is they have good food and good service. Downside is usually a wait (20-40 minutes). But I am usually with my daughter and we both really like the food, so we wait. Not sure if there is a wait during weekday lunch. I have tried various things, really like the pizza and salads, my daughter likes the pasta dishes. More recently i have been ordering the fish tacos and they are awesome! the best I have had outside of San Diego (where they really know how to make them). I have tried them in many places and these at Cal Pizza are really superior to other places!! Overall have always had a good experience and continue to be a repeat customer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“better than fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good local, quick meal. Try salads, pizza. Kids OK. Service can slow at peak times. A good value for the money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The pizza was delicious. We also had the chips and guac and spring rolls for the table. Both we very good. Our big party for lunch had a bit of a wait, I wish they'd take a reservation for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Good Service but not very Attentive when it's slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We decided to have a quick, late dinner at California Pizza Kitchen one night before seeing a $5 movie (on $5 Wednesdays). I arrived at about 9 so the place was relatively quiet. It also happened to be Halloween, so its possible that it was especially dead because everyone was busy eating candy. This is important context because you can expect a lot more when your server is only wating on you.
So, the food was delicious. It always is. Their pizzas are different and exciting. The Wild Mushroom pizza I had is my favorite. It has 3 kinds of mushrooms with pesto sauce instead of tomato sauce. Andrew also loved his pizza. Plus they have sweet tea! That is somewhat rare around here so it's always nice to find some.
Now, if the food is so delicious why didn't you give it 5 Stars? You ask. Well simply because the service was decent but was lacking considering how quiet it was. We will go back, of course, but we expected better.
Similarly, the bathroom was somewhat clean but one stall was desperately in need of cleaning. Usually it wouldn't have been that bad but if the restuarant is empty, someone should think to clean the bathrooms.
So in conclusion, California Pizza Kitchen is a great place to eat! Please go there and enjoy their yummy pizzas and sweet tea. Just make sure you go during regular hours not when its too quiet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“GREAT pizza. Period !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great pizza. They can make it how you want it. Great crust, sauce, cheese. Fresh toppings. The restaurant is clean and efficient. Attentive wait staff. Moderate pricing. Go!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.