We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pad Thai

Pad Thai
11199 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-591-2525
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #32 of 340 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Solid Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We visited this place on a whim, when another favorite Thai location turned out to be closed. Lucky for us.

Pad Thai is located in an unassuming strip mall (now - next to Walmart). What you find inside, however, is simple, yet charming place (if you are into restaurant decor, personally I don't care).

More importantly, they serve good quality tasty Thai food that is done just right. The Pad Thai was great, and came in just the right amount (not too much, not too little) - consistent with their name. I was especially glad to see that coconut curry dishes were tasty, not overly spicy but exciting enough. These are often "off" and not every Thai restaurant gets them right. Tasty spring rolls, but fried tofu was a bit bland (though sauces made up for it).

Service was good, perhaps too attentive - probably because we came during the slow time between lunch and dinner. If you are looking for good Thai, this place may be worth a drive down.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    17
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall for Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Pay attention or you may drive past it. Great Thai place for the authentic Thai dishes one loves to crave.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Authentic, cooked White House thai dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Thai owner has prepared meals for kings and presidents. I actually dont care for the pad thai because he admitedly makes it for the american pallet. But if you ask him to make it thai, he will. that goes for anything. if u want it made off menu or made a certain way, he will make it to please. very nice service. a true gem in fairfax

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome, cheap, authentic Thai in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Found out about this place through a friend and am so glad I did. I've gotten to know the owner pretty well as he always comes out to check on how the food is, and it's always great. He and his sister take great pride in their restaurant and it shows.

I'd recommend the Crispy Duck, the Pad Woon Sen, the Kanom Jeeb, the Pad Thai, and for dessert their Mango Sticky Rice is great, but even more interesting is their Thai custard. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tiny little jewel box!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I thought I didn't like Thai food until a friend took me here The food is wonderful, the decor is very bright and cheery, and the service is friendly and efficient

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pad Thai also viewed

 

Been to Pad Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pad Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Pad Thai to your Saves list