We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Mystic, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Pet Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the Fairfax and D.C. area. We brought our dog with us and found this to be a great pet friendly hotel. We were probably the only ones with a dog but none the less, it was perfect for us. In fact, right next to the hotel is a wonderful park with a great hiking trail where we walked our dog in the morning and evening. The hotel even provides bags to pick up after the dog. Attached are some pictures of the park, the high school, the trail and the hotel. The front desk team was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were more or less average and we found them comfortable for us and our dog (who was crated while we slept and while we left the hotel, she does great in hotels). The breakfast was standard fare for this chain, waffles, cereal, bagels, and coffee/juice. The hotel was clean and very safe. The area has plenty of restaurants including high end chains like Ruths Chris Steak House and the popular restaurants like PF Changs, Chilis, etc. A good breakfast place in Fairfax is called First Watch and only about 4 miles from the hotel. Great service, fast and good food. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Priced very reasonable. The pet fee was $25.00 extra a day, we would like to see that drop down to $15/day. Overall a very good experience. We had our two children with us also and they enjoyed the visit. The pool was very clean. We noticed several high schools staying at the hotel but the kids were fun and reasonable. We never worried about the kids, in fact it reassured us that it was a safe hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
40
26
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We always like Comfort Inns but this one was a surprise price wise! Since it's near Washington, DC we expected expensive and busy/noisy. It was very reasonably priced, quiet and friendly service. The gift shop had lot's of souvenirs at very good prices. Expanded continental breakfast was included with the room and that was tasty and plentiful. Everything in the place was very clean....The front desk personnel were very helpful and patient with us tourists in learning the "metro" system and where to eat, etc.

The only complaint we had was that the housekeeping staff knocked on our door at 8 am asking if we wanted our room cleaned. She woke us up since we were vacationing. The front desk said to put our do not disturb sign on the door to avoid that happening again.

I recommend this hotel to leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

when i first checked in, i was greeted by a friendly staff. lobby was clean, parking (for a bus) was more than adequate. several groups checked in behind me and i never saw one kid in their groups. it was quiet, very convenient to DC and Arlington. as a matter of fact, i was supposed to be on mass ave in dc at 0830 the next morning and was not looking forward to the traffic. i left the hotel at 0725 and was sitting at the hotel at 0810. absolutely remarkable.
when i walked into my room, i was taken back by the "funkiness" of the room. i had been up-graded to a jacuzzi suite. this jacuzzi was so big, i could have fit all of my children in there! see the photos.
because of the nature of my business, i was contacted by ms. gollaly? and she was very personable. if and when i bring a group i would not hesitate to contact her as i felt she would be a very helpful contact to work with.
the only thing i thought odd was the jacuzzi/bathroom layout. i have never stayed in a room where i had to look for the toilet!
i would recommend this property and would not hesitate to stay again. it was very convenient to many shops/store most travelers would look for. a giant food store was just across the street and because of my diet, i do not do fast food. having the microwave/frig allowed me to get more nutritous food and cook in my room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We loved Fairfax, the NRA Museum and all the people we met.
The hotel is really nice, the rooms are really lovely, the staff are very good. Easy secure parking, two lifts, excellent breakfasts. 7-11 store with seconds walk, a good Ruby Tuesday restaurant over the road. All in all the very best place we stayed on this trip.
I will return to visit the National Firearms Museum again, and I will stay at the Comfort Inn and nowhere else !
Nothing at all can be said that is bad about this hotel, only good things.
Richard, London, ENGLAND.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

There are two towers to this hotels. Groups of kids will be in one tower during the spring. I am a tour director and they put tour directors, bus drivers and individual reservations in the second tower. I have never had a problem with kids slamming doors, etc., at night because I am far away from them. Some of the rooms even have jacuzzis (although when you are managing a tour you never have time to use them). Hotel has a shuttle to the Metro.

Breakfast is in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. You have the choice of a regular American style breakfast or an oriental breakfast. I have enjoyed tasting all the oriental items. There are fresh donuts.

The hotel is a little far out for visiting DC, but student groups have to balance price with location and it is a good choice for them.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I recently stayed here in November, but I have stayed at this hotel many times and each time I come I get the red carpet treatment. Many of the staff members know me by name and it makes me feel special and appreciated. That are very accommodating and will do everything in their power to make your stay comfortable and rewarding. The have very competitive rates and the rooms are amazing. I foresee a long and lasting relationship with this site.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for four nights and absolutely love this place. The location is so convenient, in addition, the hotel offers a shuttle service. The room is very clean, comfortable and modern. The hotel has a restaurant, indoor swimming pool, gift shop and fitness center. Hotel staffs are warm, knowledgeable and friendly and best of all, it’s a steal on pricing. I love this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.