We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable and friendly place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“a comfortable and friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a nice, reasonably-priced hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. The air conditioning units in the rooms themselves are quite loud. That was the only downside of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
27
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Came up for one night to attend a Fairfax High graduation. We were greeted by Sushil Thapa at the desk who was friendly and, though busy, had us checked in in very short order and made us feel welcome and happy. The room was clean and the hot tub was a welcome experience after a long drive. Overall the visit was "Super Duper"! We plan to stay here again on any future visits.

Room Tip: Pay the difference for the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, nice indoor pool, good breakfast buffet.
Nice gift shop and walking distance to get food. Mini kitchen and refrigerators are nice to have. Lots of room to walk in the rooms.
Front staff personal very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we hope we have with you. Hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I stay here 4-5 times a school year. We have had various experiences over the past 2 years. This past year we have been pleased with our stay. The hotel is very comfort inn generic. You stay at one you will see the same in all. Décor and breakfast bars all look the same. The staff and attention to details make the difference. I would recommend this property for a short stay. Bring your own pillows and the beds are very average at best. I would not pay more than 70-80 dollars a night for this hotel. If you can stay for 50 or less it is worth the money. Reserve a head of time to get a better rate.

Room Tip: Beds are very average. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always welcome feedback from our guests so we can continue to improve our services. The similar feeling you get from Choice Hotels is intended as concept through Choice Hotels, this effect is supposed to make our guests feel comfortable in their settings even if they are staying at a different property for the first time. This is why you would find similar decor, bedding, pillows, etc.

We hope to see you again in the future!!

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for our seminars in May and had another excellent stay. All of the staff were quite helpful and friendly. Every time I stay here the staff treat me like one of the family and it makes the stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very happy with our stay in this hotel. Wanted to visit the NRA Museum in Fairfax. This hotel is less than a mile away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were tired and didn't want to go far for dinner. One of the staff led us through the building to one of the finest Chinese restaurants we have ever been to. Never had to leave the building. The room was very spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We needed a handicapped accessible room. Very pleased with the accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first time I booked a room with two double beds. This time I decided to book a room with a king bed. Upon arrival I was checked in, given keys, and went to my room. Imagine my surprise when I entered the room and found two double beds and no king bed. Upon returning to the front desk I was told that they has overbooked. This was very frustrating to be sure. They did offer to lower the rate to what the rate for a double room should be (they acted like it was a courtesy when it should have been a given). Never in my life have I stayed at a hotel where I have been downgraded. Very disappointing. Will not be staying here again and will not be recommending that anyone from my company states here either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Traveler,
I was very sorry to hear about your unfavorable experience on your recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We always strive to accommodate every guest's preferences that they have requested, it is only a very few times that the specific room types would not be honored. We hope that you can give us another try in the future for us to show that we value your business.
Sincerely,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.