We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my wife visit here once ever couple of months for a get away. We love the fact that they have a hot tub in the rooms and king size beds in those rooms. The staff at the desk are very helpful and know the area well . We would highly recommended this hotel if you need a romantic get away to connect with the one you love.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel with hot tubs this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
40
26
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had to make a sudden trip to see our son in Fairfax last weekend and did not have a chance to book a room anywhere. We stayed at the Comfort Inn University Center which was reasonably close to our son's apartment. The manager, Brian, went out of his way to find us a room on short notice. What a pleasant young man! We found out that he has worked for a number of years at this hotel and he is very "top drawer".

The hotel was well maintained and the staff very friendly and helpful. Although it may have been a few years since a major renovation, everything was clean and the rooms had good size to them.

A stay here is not only economical but worth the look if you are going to be in the Washington, DC area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately, when visiting Washington DC, my friend and I met the federal government shutdown. However, we had happy time in the hotel. The front desk was friendly, the hallway was bright, and the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We spent some time in warm swimming pool and gym. In addition, the hotel provided free bus shuttle to Vienna Metro Station in weekdays (maybe around 6:00-9:00AM, 4:30-9:30PM). It was convenient for us, especially for people who did not want to park in Washington DC. Generally speaking, the quality of hotel is beyond my expectation and this hotel is the best hotel I stayed so far in this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What I like about the stay:
1. Wonderful, free shuttle
We were two people traveling together. Since we didn't have a car, the free shuttle service was really helpful! (Had a good time chatting with the chauffeur, Robert, who was very friendly.) One day we got up late and had to change our schedule for the day. When we asked the front desk to cancle our booking at the last minute and booked a new time, she replied with a smile, "Not a problem!"
2. Friendly staff
At breakfast, the staff members always greeted us. Nothing significant, but heart-warming for foreign travelers like us.
3. Clean, warm-water pool
We had a good time swimming in the warm pool and got a nice suntan. (By the way, we didn't know we had to sign a "waiver" when the lifeguard isn't on duty and thus directly plunged into the water. The manger found out and only kindly "reminded" us of the regulation, without embarrassing us.)

All in all, we got a friendly reception and enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Comfort Inn from Sept. 18 to 23rd and was very happy with our accomodation's
Our vacation was to visit DC and with the costs of hotels in and near DC at a all time high we decided
to check out areas in VA. We was looking for a hotel that would have free parking, and free breakfast at a price less then $100 a night and we got that at this location. To help us on expenses we purchased a Groupon voucher but even without it we still would have saved. The room was clean and comfortable.
It had a refrigerator and microwave which was a great help for us. It also had a Jacuzzi tub of which
we did not use.
The desk clerks was nothing but great. All employee's was very friendly and helpful.
We used the Vienna Metro station to get into DC and back. Even tho they had a free shuttle, we chose
to drive to the Metro station and park for $4.50 per day M-F and free on weekends. We did drive to Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetery in our rental car. I would not advise driving in DC. We got lost most of the timeand the traffic is horrible.
We would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor (6th floor) and away from the elevators. Very quiet around us during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We purchased a Groupon and got a great rate on a room to take the family up for one night. We did not have high expectaitons considering the room rate. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing extravagant, but was clean and worked great for us. The front desk staff were very welcoming and polite. The free breakfast in the morning was nice and included fresh made waffles, which the kids really enjoyed. Overall, the accomodations and staff made this a great overnight trip for the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mariana B. Vilchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The manager needs to address the un-trained, rude staff issue, instead of posing as a fake guest, posting fake praise to cover up the real issue. Some basic customer interaction training will be helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.