We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, well maintained, nice rooms, especially w/corporate discounts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, well maintained, nice rooms, especially w/corporate discounts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wound up in a premium king room with hot tub! Nice, though I had no use for the tub on my business trip! Still, it was a great deal. Breakfast was typical; I imagine the breakfast rooms get pretty crowded if the hotel is full, though. Local area shuttle is helpful, though sometimes overwhelmed with GMU trips. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you really need quiet, ask for a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
35
22
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have stayed here many times while visiting my daughter at GMU. I have found the hotel to have a very helpful and friendly front desk. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel; the price is right and you are close to so much that the area has to offer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldorado, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a good option to stay outside of the DC area. I got a really good rate the first night of 75usd but needed to book another night and the rate had doubled. Having stayed there the night before I didn't feel that the hotel was worth $140/night but the lower rate was a good value.

Hotel check in was fast. Front desk staff was friendly. Hotel is in need of remodeling but was clean. The bed was soft and comfy. The air con was a bit too noisy for me to run at night but it wasn't a necessity either. The breakfast starts at 6am and had hot and cold selections (eggs, sausage, muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt).

Warning...if you must get up early and get on Interstate 66 at 5:30am ALL lanes turn into HOV. I have never seen all lanes turn into a HOV but as soon as you pass the interstate 495 there is no where to get off. The police are waiting on you as you cross. There were multiple patrol cars there to catch people. The sun will be in your eyes and is hard to see these signs if you are not from a city that has HOV lanes so BEWARE. I got lucky and got to the next exit and got off...whew

The parking lot is big so if you are pulling a trailer you will be fine with parking. There is a mall near (Fair Oaks Shopping Mall) which is a descent mall. Cheesecake Factory is located inside mall.

If I needed to do more business in DC I would stay here again if the price is under $90usd. Would pass if it were more.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then make sure you request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel itself is a little older, however it is very clean inside. The rooms are very large and my bed was so comfy. In fact after a long day of fighting DC traffic I couldn't wait to get to my room to sleep. Housekeeping did a great job clean ongoing my room each day, and the front desk staff were very nice. I didn't eat breakfast but I'm sure it was good. The wifi was easy to connect to and even with 9 charter buses in the parking lot there was still plenty of hot water. Overall a very nice place to stay with an easy on and easy off of I-66.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff. Asked directions to where we were headed an they had pre printed directions - very helpful.

Hotel, room and lobby were clean and breakfast was good.

One note: what they call a queen size bed was more like a full size bed.

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this location due to their pet friendly policy and being near our destination. They would not accept our AARP discount and they charged us a $25 per pet fee. Upon arrival the first thing that hit us was an odor that can only be described as spoiled garbage which was located right outside the lobby doors. The clerk was friendly but could have been more helpful. She assigned us a room on the first floor where you have to go up five steps from the lobby to reach the hall to our room. This can be difficult if you have substantial luggage. The luggage cart was only helpful from the curb to the steps. My husband and I had to make several trips up and down the hall carrying our lugguage, belongings and our pet carrier (not to mention two Schnauzers too). After we got in our room we noticed that if we had brought our things in from down the other hallway it would have been a smoother transition. The room overall looked clean but had a slight odor. They offered the usual amenities of wifi, microwave, iron, coffee maker, refrigerator, and free breakfast. You could tell they have made some updates to the room, but it was in dire need of more attention. The room itself was a nice size. The carpet needed replacing and the comforters were ugly and worn. Our bathroom was so small the door to it barely cleared the bathroom counter and toilet. We got a room with double beds. The beds were very small and matched their tiny marshmallow-sized pillows. I generally like a firm mattress, but the mattress was too hard. No complaints on the Wifi. The flatscreen tv was nice. The room was quiet. The hotel appeared to be in a safe area with grassy areas to walk your pets. There were shops and restaurants located relatively close by. If you decided to stay here just don't expect much and you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We used the hotel for a monthly business meeting. The Sales Team is very professional and friendly. The room was ready at the appointed time. It was clean and nicely arranged. My team and I were so pleased with the service that we decided to make it a permanent venue.
Personally, I also like the hotel lobby. It is very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.