We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a good hotel. The walls are decently sound proof. The heater worked well. It's clean and the service is good. The rooms with the jacuzzis are kind of funny to me but I enjoyed it all the same. There are 2 questionable rooms though. One had terrible water pressure and one was a suite on the first floor that looked nothing like the rest of the rooms in the hotel and I am here 2 to 3 times a month. It was kind of sketchy and looked more like an old employee breakroom or storage room that they converted into a guest room.

But otherwise, I enjoy coming here because the price is right as well as the location. Also, if you read my other reviews, I'm pretty low maintenance. As long as there are no bedbugs, they automatically get a 2 star for that. The rest are earned of course.

Room Tip: If you can get a jacuzzi room, I recommend it. It's fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
22
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived late without reservations and it was very crowded. But they gave us a wonderful room with kitchenette. Perhaps it was because i'm a Choice Hotel member. The price was gat also. I asked for a late check out the next day and this was no problem and it did not cost any extra!

Breakfast was perfect. We had a real good stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

great place to stay..clean comfortable, and priced right. staff was extremely helpful and courteous from Brian at the front desk to the shuttle drivers and lifeguards. Breakfast was good the staff kept the hot foods fresh, and were very helpful in letting you know where things were.
deffinately will stay agiain!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Our family was given a good rate & nice service. The front desk helped book a tour & made sure we got to the metro quickly. My girls enjoyed the pool & Chinese restaurant located in the hotel. There is a 7, 11 store & a grocery store w/ walking distance- its in the parking lot. Breakfast was normal hotel complimetary breakfast- its nor Bob Evans but good enough to start our day. When I visit Dc again I will stay here! Our room had a full kitchen which was nice. Roomy king & the double rooms had plenty of space for a family of 4- even room for a roll away in both rooms. Spatious rooms:-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here because of massive storm damage and a power outage that lasted five days. We were lucky to get a room since all of Northern VA was booked because of the extensive power outages. The hotel was clean and quiet with A/C which was very welcome since our house was an oven. Our room was large with a nice size clean bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price. The kids used the pool the first night. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. The only draw back was that the hot water took forever to come on We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A severe storm damaged homes, power lines, etc and as I am elderly and have 2 dogs finding a place to be comfortable was almost an impossibility. It was just by chance we were able to find a room at the Comfort Inn (full to capacity along with every other hotels in the No. Va area) we were fortunate that when we showed up another person was checking out because their power had been restored.

We were without power for 6 days 4 of which we stayed at the Comfort Inn. Everyone there was sympathetic to the mass of people trying to find a place to at least have some AC on the brutal 100 degree days we were experiencing. A special thank you to Venous who worked long hours. She kept a smile and made everyone feel as though their problem was special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

If I could give half stars, I would give this place 3.5 stars. I rounded up to 4 because I recently gave another place 3 stars that was significantly worse than this place. We had a spacious room with a fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was quite nice.

We didn't get to use the pool because of some llifeguard rule in Fairfax. Apparently, the hotel does not employ a lifeguard during the day, so our kids were disappointed. However, we did use the shuttle service to the train station which made access to DC a snap. There are numerous restaurants in the area, as well as a grocery store right across the street.

If you want to stay somewhere without spending a fortune, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn University Hotel
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#14 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.