We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here because of massive storm damage and a power outage that lasted five days. We were lucky to get a room since all of Northern VA was booked because of the extensive power outages. The hotel was clean and quiet with A/C which was very welcome since our house was an oven. Our room was large with a nice size clean bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price. The kids used the pool the first night. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. The only draw back was that the hot water took forever to come on We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
24
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A severe storm damaged homes, power lines, etc and as I am elderly and have 2 dogs finding a place to be comfortable was almost an impossibility. It was just by chance we were able to find a room at the Comfort Inn (full to capacity along with every other hotels in the No. Va area) we were fortunate that when we showed up another person was checking out because their power had been restored.

We were without power for 6 days 4 of which we stayed at the Comfort Inn. Everyone there was sympathetic to the mass of people trying to find a place to at least have some AC on the brutal 100 degree days we were experiencing. A special thank you to Venous who worked long hours. She kept a smile and made everyone feel as though their problem was special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

If I could give half stars, I would give this place 3.5 stars. I rounded up to 4 because I recently gave another place 3 stars that was significantly worse than this place. We had a spacious room with a fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was quite nice.

We didn't get to use the pool because of some llifeguard rule in Fairfax. Apparently, the hotel does not employ a lifeguard during the day, so our kids were disappointed. However, we did use the shuttle service to the train station which made access to DC a snap. There are numerous restaurants in the area, as well as a grocery store right across the street.

If you want to stay somewhere without spending a fortune, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I needed to stay in Fairfax for 2 nights on business and booked this room online (mainly because they offer competitive pricing). Many other hotels in Fairfax asking $200/nt. I was very wary of the internet after reading some other reviews but it worked very well for me. The Wifi was on a secure network (Front Desk has password) and was just a fast as my home with no drops. The front desk employees were all very nice and accomodating of any requests I had. Was also happy with the breakfast, can't ask for more from a complimentary breakfast than sausage, scrammbled eggs, and belgian waffle makers.
Great place for me when I need to come back, everything is adequate without "breaking the bank" (my room came to just under $150 after taxes). Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Needed a hotel with only a few days notice for 2 nights. The room had a small kitchen area with stove, oven, microwave and fridge (slightlt higher in price but well worth it). Also a couch and wing back chair. Free wi-fi; desk areaTypical breakfast fare but plenty of it. The check in person Sushiel was very friendly with a ready smile and helpful suggestions. There is all the usual places to eat nearby as well as a grocery store. Very refreshing pool. Total non smoking rooms. Upon check out, Diego asked each person for suggestions for improvements. Mine: vent in bathroom and one stronger lightbulb

Room Tip: Room 333 was great; roomy and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I have just stayed one night at this hotel. Dirty sheets and pillows. Bathroom is in bad condition. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Good:
Easy in & out, spacious room, quiet & good water pressure
Not so good:
Housekeeping can't tuck-in sheets, crappy wifi & typical crappy breakfast (not much of any healthy choices)
Absolutely average.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#13 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.