We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Everyone was super nice! Call out to James P and Derrick for taking extra time to accomodate my family's needs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Front desk crew was great during our 3 day stay. The shuttle to the Metro stop was very helpful and pretty timely. You will need a car at this location. The in room wifi was spotty at best but it did work. The hotel itself was comfortable, but as others have mentioned it is dated. Housekeeping was just ok...and if you are a coffee drinker make sure they refill your coffee packets or you may not have any available in the morning.

My biggest complaint was that the electrical plugs are worn out and trying to charge computers and cell phones was challenging. We had to unplug the lamps to plug in the phones so the room was dark. Now a day plugs are at a premium since many of us carry multiple chargable devices.

Just keep in mind the rate you are paying and don't expect too much...they were far more affordable than others in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REF531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

3 nites w/points asked for upgrade to jacuzzi and got it. Room 630 had ants. Moved to 626---no problems tour busses w/kids but no real problems. staff was good. would go back.

Room Tip: staff was verry helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mack l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Ants in the room. Room smelled. A dirty washcloth was behind the bathroom door when we checked in. Shower pressure was almost non existent. Went to 3 vending machineson our side of the hotel and 2 on the other side/no working vending machine. Left a message asking for a return call from the manager, who did not bother to return the call. 6 people from 3 different rooms in our group got very sick. Worst hotel I've every experienced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The internet could not possible be any slower than it is. They block a long list of websites as well....imagine that...a hotel that blocks websites. I was shocked!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked 3 nights sight unseen over the internet, and crossed our fingers. We had a wonderful time!! We were in Room 521, Tower A. We heard no street noises, or sounds from the tour groups that were here (we saw the buses, but didn't hear them!). Our room was on a special, we had a 2 person jacuzzi, a fridge and a microwave, and a very comfy King size bed. Everything was clean and well kept. Breakfast was included and was a notch above most continentals.... with a make your own waffle area, eggs, sausage and yogurt as well as pastries, bagels, toast, cereals.... Coffee and tea were available around the clock in the lobby. We used the heated pool twice, and was a bit disappointed in the limited hours, 5p to 9p only. No day hours for rainy or need to relax days. As other reviewers have noted, the internet access was very spotty, despite calls to the help desk. It dropped frequently, and had many connection difficulties. If your trip requires access, be aware! there are 3 terminals in the lobby, but they were also slow, but did connect!
We are lunch in the Chinese restaurant connected to the hotel, and it was good. There was a little trouble with them understanding our order, but it got worked out.... there is also a 7-11 directly across the parking lot, if you need a late night snack!
The only concern we had was the bathroom set up. The toliet area was separated by a slatted door, and had no ventilation fan in the bathroom. We could have used a vent! The shower is circle shaped and steams up the whole mirror sink area.
We asked the front desk once for help with directions, and they were accomodating and friendly. I would advise anyone wanting a get away few days to book an A tower room here... our rate was $89/night , then taxes.... great deal for a lovely time!!

Room Tip: "A" tower if not with a group.... couples may want to ask and get the 2 person jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
259 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed here at least 4 times and everytime they have a poor excuse for their lack of wifi. If you use wifi, or need wifi, you'll thank me to NOT stay here. They never have a good signal and when they do, its very slow. Dial up is faster. Never will I stay here again. I'm a diamond with Choice hotels and this is one of the worst when dealing with wifi issues. It's non-existent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
1.3 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing