We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable! Brand new and MODERN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very comfortable! Brand new and MODERN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I loved this hotel. It was a bit far from our business location but was $70 cheaper than a hotel in Tyson's corner area.

It was new and very modern with a contemporary look from the lobby to the hallway to the guest rooms. The pool and exercise room looked HUGE. There is even a large spacious business area. Free wireless.

Beds were super comfortable. I got a great nights sleep.

The only complaint that I have is that my HUGE digital Flatscreen tv got an analog signal so the picture was a bit "fuzzy" and they only sold pepsi products.

I would definately stay here again for business or bring my family here for leisure events in the area.

They had a "grill area" in the lobby vs. a restuarant. I thought it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Consistent Marriott quality all around - friendly service at check in/out and the Bistro, very comfortable bed, and clean room. The updated modern decor throughout the lobby and Bistro was eye catching and gave a very inviting feeling to the hotel's common areas. This modern decor was carried over to the guest rooms - great new furnishings made the rooms even more comfortable.
This was the first Courtyard that I've visited with the new Bistro/bar concept. It had a good selection of cook to order breakfasts as well as on the run items. At night, it was a comfortable place for a night cap with communal tables as well as private booths.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This was a nice place to stay for the week while visiting Wash. DC. It is only about 3 miles from the metro that has free parking on week-ends. During the week you can take a bus to the metro station from in front of the hotel (we had trouble with this as the staff knew nothing about the time tables).
This was a clean and comfortable place. We had a room with a balcony over the parking lot and we got a lot of noise in the morning. You should try to get a room facing the courtyard. Priceline rooms automatically give you a king size bed. We needed two beds, which she was willing to give us (she said they usually cost more). We ended up with two queens and a refrigerator.
The pool was wonderfully warm everyday. They do have a lifeguard watching you all the time (a little awkward).
There is no free breakfast, but a lot of expensive food choices you can buy at their cafe.
They have several computers downstairs to use. The connection in my room was always shutting down. You had to keep re-registering every 24 hours. Okay for one day, but gets to be a pain every night when you want to come back to your hotel and get on your laptop.
They had coffee and hot water downstairs all the time. Very nice courtyard. Very nice lobby with seating areas and large tvs.
Great location next to grocery store, fast food, firearms museum.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

service, GREAT rooms, a nice cafe, and EVERY employee I met seemed to like to be there... a very nice hotel.

WOW!!! I travel a great deal and this makes my top-business hotels list... I'll be staying here a lot...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

For the short time I was at the hotel I had a very nice staff and the staff were very polite. Upon returning to the hotel that evening we wished to purchase some food from the onsite mini store. They were all out of the items we wanted to purchase but the attendent on site went to look for some more and returned with enough for everyone. He then proceeded to search for restaurants in the area that we could go to for breakfast that next morning. He gave us his recommendations, gave us the opening times, and printed out directions for each of them or us. I would stay here again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed 1 night as a stopover to South Carolina. The staff was pleasant, and checkin and checkout was trouble free. I paid $67 for a Friday night. Booked a regular room with (2) queen beds, and they upgraded me to a 2-room suite at no charge, without even asking. Beds were comfortable, room clean. I would stay here again without hesitation. Only negative was that breakfast was not included, and the prices for breakfast were very high. Bonus: Wireless Internet in the rooms was free

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Got a great AAA rate ($55 per nite) for a long cherry blossom wkend in Washington DC. I thought this was the Courtyard across from the Metro but it was not - go to the Courtyard Fairfax Dunn Loring for walking distance to the Metro - because at this Fairfax Fair Oaks Courtyard you have to drive to the Vienna Metro stop. We arrived disappointed we were at the wrong hotel but it worked out okay because the Metro transit workers are extremely helpful and can tell you exactly what to do about getting in and around the capital. Anyway this hotel was clean and modern and the room was comfortable. The housekeepers were friendly. We left five bucks tip every morning and they did a good job cleaning. The front desk was efficient but not at all friendly. Our room was right next to the back exit door and the back staircase and a short distance from the pool. The housekeeping supply closet was opposite our room. It was very noisy expecially in the morning when the housekeepers arrive for work. On the first morning, they knocked on our door before 9am. We are late sleepers but it got us up. On the next two mornings, the noise and talking they made got us up. Stay here to avoid paying big Washington hotel rates - it's close to the Fair Oaks Mall where there is a Cheescake Factory, a Brazilian BBQ and a Japanese buffet restaurant - or try the Courtyard at Dunn Loring. I'm going to try that on my next trip to the capital area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.