We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated but could be friendlier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nicely updated but could be friendlier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Got a great AAA rate ($55 per nite) for a long cherry blossom wkend in Washington DC. I thought this was the Courtyard across from the Metro but it was not - go to the Courtyard Fairfax Dunn Loring for walking distance to the Metro - because at this Fairfax Fair Oaks Courtyard you have to drive to the Vienna Metro stop. We arrived disappointed we were at the wrong hotel but it worked out okay because the Metro transit workers are extremely helpful and can tell you exactly what to do about getting in and around the capital. Anyway this hotel was clean and modern and the room was comfortable. The housekeepers were friendly. We left five bucks tip every morning and they did a good job cleaning. The front desk was efficient but not at all friendly. Our room was right next to the back exit door and the back staircase and a short distance from the pool. The housekeeping supply closet was opposite our room. It was very noisy expecially in the morning when the housekeepers arrive for work. On the first morning, they knocked on our door before 9am. We are late sleepers but it got us up. On the next two mornings, the noise and talking they made got us up. Stay here to avoid paying big Washington hotel rates - it's close to the Fair Oaks Mall where there is a Cheescake Factory, a Brazilian BBQ and a Japanese buffet restaurant - or try the Courtyard at Dunn Loring. I'm going to try that on my next trip to the capital area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    55
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
37
27
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

The rooms are small for the price, the walls are made of rice paper and you can hear everything going on in the hallway and the room next to you. At 9:00 AM, the fire alarm went off and went on for 15 minutes. While trying to conduct business in the lobby in the morning, they run the vacuum, employees are yelling at each other across the lobby. VERY NOISY and DISRUPTIVE.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This Marriott was one of the best Marriott Hotel that I, a Gold Member, have experienced. First - They had a great Weekend Rate. Second - The Check-In was fast, efficient and we were given a room on the Contierge Floor. Third - The Central Foyer was beautiful and spacious, with a water fountain and marble floors.The room was good size, although the bathroom was small. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. The breakfast buffets were on par with most Marriotts. The serve was excellent and friendly. The Business Center was free with 2 computers and printers. The location was great as it was next to the Fair Oaks Mall. I highly recommend this Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

The exterior of the hotel was very average, so as I parked I thought to myself "you get what you pay for" as I had gotten the AAA rate of $67. Well was I wrong! You walk in to a beautiful lobby. It was so large, it was like going to a mall....the front desk were mini-counters located next to this mini-store where you could buy snacks, drinks, etc. Across was this counter where you could order sandwiches etc to bring to your room....there was of couse a sitting area there in case you wanted to be served. It smelled delicious. The business center was also large, 6 computers, printer, plenty of work space.

I have got to believe this has recently been redone because everything looked so new. The room was nicely decorated, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker. Good shower pressure. Quiet A/C. Bed was good, probably not top of the line, but comfortable. Everything was very clean.

The only things I didn't care for was that I was on the ground floor so my sliding glass door faced the courtyard. As a woman traveling alone, I usually don't like that, but I did feel safe here and stayed put. Also usually when you are laying in bed, the tv is at the foot of the bed, the hotel had the tv on the side.

MAJOR RECOMMENDATION -- across from the hotel on the other side of Lee Jackson Hwy is a shopping center. Hidden near the Kmart, behind the McDonalds is a small non-descript storefront called The Deli. Oh my goodness, fresh bread, fresh veggies, fresh cold cuts! Even the cannolis are hand-made!! You can eat there but I just brought it back to the hotel. It also has shelves of grocery items which I bought a bunch of things you can't find in Texas. I bought pastries for the morning since the hotel did not have complimentary breakfast.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — exterior wasn't impressive
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We had a group of 30+ families staying at this hotel for a highschool sporting event. Our group rate was $69 per night. We were all amazed at the quality and style of the hotel for that price. The teens had a blast in the pool and hot tub, and sitting around the outdoor court yard fire pit. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. Ours had a balcony overlooking the court yard and fire pit. The king bed was very comfortable and the hotel quiet at night. The only complaint was that breakfast did not start until 7:00 am and we had to leave for crew race at 6:45, however, there was free coffee/hot drinks in the lobby.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I stayed here for ten days. The hotel is clean, nice and I would stay here again. However, the internet in my room was not working for five days and it was annoying that I had to make several calls per day to have it fixed. It took them five days before they figured out that the modem!!! was defect...There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and thats about it, twice I thought I would take the bus and it never turned up after 40 min waiting. In the end I took the car to the metro station and that cost me another extra $8. Also the bus is only running every 30 minutes if it turns up...Fairfax is not an exciting place to stay, there is really nothing to see.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Hotel was clean and comfortable. gym was small with new equipt. pool only open after 5pm on weekdays(should say that on web site). At the end of stay the hotel tried to tack on a bunch of charges from the market and food service. I disputed this and they took charges off my bill. Halls were freezing.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.