We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sleep, rate, customer service, expensive breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for sleep, rate, customer service, expensive breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We lived in Fairfax many years and were returning for brief visit. Great location w access to I-66 and Rte 50. Costco nearby and Wegmans best food shopping on east coast. Beds comfortable, quiet for that area. Used points for stay, but rates reasonable if you shop on line compared to other hotels in area. Had problem with cleaning of room that was immediately solved by front desk, and everyone was exceedingly helpful with anything we asked about. Would be nice to at least have coffee available in lobby without charging an arm and a leg for it. Small maker in room doesn't handle two people's thirst. Prices at bistro, though it's nice, were way too high. Business people on per diem can afford. Families or those on budget can not in general and we and many others just hop across street to restaurants like Dunkin Donuts for half the price or less. Losing food business because of prices, though servers were anxious to help and food appeared good. Would return for good, quick night's sleep without noise and because management is so helpful with anything. Also have nice bank of computers to print out boarding passes or check email. Also. handicapped access was good from side, with short distance to room

Room Tip: We were on first floor and never heard anyone, though hotel was pretty booked, even with a kid's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed here with a large group of families for the WAGS soccer tournament over Colombus Day weekend. The location was great with convenient access to the western Washington suburbs. While unassuming at first the hotel was well appointed, the staff was courteous and the rooms were very nicely updated. Our group rate was fantastic (bonus!) and the Bistro was a great place to grab a bite especially in the morning. Would stay here again and recommend without reservation. Thank you Marriott!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stay at this Courtyard every time we come to Fairfax to visit our grandkids. It one of the ones that have been remodeled and the lobby and restaurant area is very nice. Restaurant area has booths with private TVs. Rooms are clean, well maintained and comfortable. Big TV, small couch, comfortable office chair, pull out desk/table that can be used for dining. Refrig, coffee maker, hair dryer. We love the restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. Everything we have had at breakfast has been delicious and the same goes for the dinner items. Our favorite is the BBQ chicken flatbread. The staff is always friendly and welcoming. For what you get here, the price is definitely worth it. Not to bad to drive to DC from here, either. Just try to avoid rush hour if possible.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Greetings from The Fair Oaks Courtyard by Marriott. Thank you for taking a few moments to review your stay. I am so glad you were able to enjoy the fast, fresh menu in The Bistro. The BBQ Chicken Flatbread is also my favorite. We hope to be able to host upon your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is one of the old Courtyards that actually has a courtyard. The interior is a bit weary, but not terribly so, and it's a comfortable, quiet hotel with easy access to US50 and I-66 and with convenient food and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Fairfax. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The hotel was convenient to my business meeting location which was nearby. I found the hotel to be very clean. Enjoyed the Bistro at happy hour. Good service from check in to check out as well as at
the Bistro.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us!! We are so glad you were able to enjoy The Bistro. We hope to host you on your next stay in Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Exactly what we needed for a clean, safe, convenient hotel. Would like to have had a continental breakfast, or a breakfast that didn't cost $9.00 an egg, but hey, we managed to hit the Dunkin Donuts right down the road. Absolutely would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This was the fourth and final hotel on my baseball trip, and sadly the worst one. Lucky this was just a place to sleep and nothing more. We arrive at 3am to locked lobby doors where we were met by a rude woman who gave me a dirty look as she had to get up to open the doors. It took 5 mins for her to get off the phone for her to check me in. So she directs us the wrong way to the elevators and we finally arrive at our room. I had to use the restroom badly so i went but noticed the toilet barely flushed, had to hold the handle down to have it flush. So this was already frustrating and the next thing just topped it off. I go to open the soap to wash my hands and the soap was previously used had hairs all over it, ABSOLUTELY GROSS!! At this rate i just slept a few hours and then checked out, to another "charming" front desk worker who might of said two words the whole transaction... The place itself seems run down, and kinda in between modern and retro decor. The room was set up odd, the bed facing the windows but it was nice it had a mini outdoor deck area... Just ok

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Kyle,
Thank you for taking time to share your impressions of the hotel and staff from your recent stay. I am suprised to hear about your experience, this is truly out of the ordinary. For the safety and security of our guests and team, the hotel is locked during the overnight hours. We are here 24/7 to offer our guests the best experience possible. Please contact me the next time you are in the area, we truly value you as a guest and look forward to making it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.