We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Fairfax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great choice in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very good choice for traveling, either on business or for leisure. Excelent location nearby main routes. Friendly and efficient staff welcomes you any time of the day. Value for the price paid is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Greetings from the Fair Oaks Courtyard by Marriott. Thank you for taking a few moments to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
28
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Courtyard in good condition, nicely decorated room. The beds were showing their age. They were not as comfortable as in other Marriott properties. The bed had some minor sagging and slid off the box spring quite a bit. The best feature of this property is the central location, while still being very quiet. We drove by it twice before we actually saw the entrance. This is a great thing as Rt 50 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy is very busy (day and night) and we could not hear any traffic at all once we were on the property. Minutes from shopping and dining at Fair Oaks Mall and a short ride to the Dulles Airport. We will definitely visit this property again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Courtyard by Marriott Fair Oaks offered us a very pleasant one-night getaway. We had a spotless, comfortable, and nicely decorated room on the inner courtyard and could barely hear the nearby busy traffic of a main route through Fairfax. We were on the third floor and had a balcony with sliding glass doors, but alas no furniture -- and the doors didn’t open wide enough to allow us to take a chair out. The first floor courtyard rooms do feature patio furniture, but we didn’t discover that until too late. However, there is plenty of furniture available to all guests in the courtyard itself, which is a lovely retreat.

Courtyards do not offer free breakfasts, but this hotel had a bistro bar open for both breakfast and dinner which served light fare plus Starbucks products as well as wine and beer. Prices were reasonable.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice hotel, very clean, quite place to get a good nights sleep when traveling. The only suggestion are the beds could be firmer in my opinion. The location was great being on the outskirts of Washington DC. Would definitely stop here again when in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very handy location for those visiting students attending George Mason University. Front Desk staff & personnel are friendly and very efficient. Bistro staff/servers need more charm and customer relations training. Smiles and warmer greetings would help. Slow to serve but product was acceptable. Fitness Center well equipped although I did point out the absence of sanitizing pads to wipe down the equipment. A quick but thorough vacuum of the Fitness Center would be nice. Noticed a hint of mold stain on the shower curtain (Room 114). May need to change more frequently or use more elbow grease. Generally extra attention to cleaning and vacuuming would benefit the overall appearance impression. May have just been a bad week! I must admit, as a Marriott owner, my standards and expectations for Marriott facilities is higher! I'm sure we'll be back - during the coming years. NOTE: No hot tub but pool appeared inviting - no time to enjoy! Hours restricted.

Room Tip: Generally off the main highway, so noise not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Reserved several rooms here for a business trip in the Fair Oaks area. The hotel was clean, quiet and the service was outstanding. We especially found the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant to be excellent. They were friendly, helpful and continued to ask how they could help. I used a wheelchair and they were very kind. The rooms were great! No noise and lots of time to rest between meetings. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladue, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here for several days as part of a chorus trip and the hotel was pretty much what I expected. The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I also noticed that the property seemed to be well looked after and the lobby was bright, comfy, and relaxing. I can't speak to the value of the price/amenities because we were getting a special rate because of our large group. Overall, I would reccomend this hotel if you are looking to stay in the DC area.

That being said there are a few drawbacks:
1. The offerings at the Bistro are overpriced. Not only that, the menu is extremely limited and the food is not prepared fresh. Unfortunately, the items are prepared a day or so in advance and then reheated as needed. This practice gives off an odd aroma in the lobby and the 1st floor hallway leading to the lobby, when the breakfast items are reheated (my friend and I could best describe it as a "greasy, stale food smell"), which is not a major issue just an odd that the hotel staff has not noticed/corrected it.
-If you are looking for food options there are several restaurants in walking distance and a grocery store located next door.

2. Despite the fact that the property is a courtyard, the 2nd and 3rd floors are not connected. Your can do a loop on the 1st floor but the other two floors are divided and you must go to the ground floor to get to the other side of the hotel.

3. The hotel is not that close to the metro. To be fair their is a bus stop located very close to the hotel and that bus line runs to the nearest metro line. Just something to keep in mind if you are planning on commuting into DC from this hotel.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floors are divided into wings so if you are booking two rooms and want to be near ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Peter,

We really enjoyed hosting everyone in your group! I am glad to hear that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and well maintained. I will pass along your comments to our team as they take great pride in the service we provide to all of our guests. Many of our guests appreciate our unique Courtyard layout, it is a great public space for our guests to enjoy. The Bistro offers fresh and made to order meals for breakfast and dinner seven days a week, as well we brew Starbucks coffee throughout the day. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Marriott
Fairfax Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.